Delicious Ham and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
I used my leftover ham from Christmas and it worked wonderful in this recipe. It is great! I made it last night and it was soooo easy. I am learning how to cook and this was a very easy recipe. Thanks for a great dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
Excellent soup. Feel free to try different things in it. I used broclie (sp), added cheese and a little white wine. Easy and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2003
I made this with left over ham. I added extra ham and potatoes. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2003
This is the BEST potatoe soup I've had! A few changes I did... I didn't bother peeling the potatoes, just washed and diced them up. Also added some chopped carrots for color and flavor. Only added about 1/2tsp of pepper and no extra salt, just the boullion. I like my potatoe soup a little bit thicker than it turned out. I'm not sure if I did something wrong with the flour mixture or if it's just a thinner broth. So I mashed the veges real lightly with potatoe masher and added instant mashed potatoe flakes to thicken it up a bit! Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1890 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2003
really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VETTELVR24
Home Town: Reeltown, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2003
This was excellent!! I did add 1-2 more tablespoons of flour, to the melted butter, for a thicker broth. I also added thinly sliced carrots to the potatoes and ham. When finished I added left over green beans, and it turned out great!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pabroncofan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hunlock Creek, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Plains, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2003
This was very good. I did embelish it a bit. I added carrots to the vegies and I sauted them for a few minutes before I added the water in a little butter. I also added more water about 1/2 - 3/4 cup to the amount given. Then at the very end I added some grated cheddar cheese. It was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shoreview, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2003
This was a wonderful soup that I will definatly make again. One thing that I'll change though is that I'll put way less bullion in it. I didn't add the salt but it was still too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2003
This is one of the best ham & potato soups I've ever tasted! I'm always looking for ham recipes, as I often buy a half fully cooked ham, cube, and divide up into freezer bags for quick meals. Making the white sauce separately really added the right creaminess to the potato/ham & veggie mixture. I used a can of chicken broth for part of the liquid, as I didn't have any bullion. Also threw in some shredded carrots I had on hand, plus 1/2 cup shredded cheese to the white sauce after it had thickened. Also, (to disguise the carrots), added a sprinkle of cheese to each bowl upon serving. Very creamy and tasty. I'll definitely make again, possibly adding corn next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1532 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orofino, Idaho, USA
Living In: North Berwick, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2003
I thought this was very good. I added 1 cup of shredded cheddar to the white sauce and a couple of slices of american cheese. I omited the salt, the chicken granules make it salty enough. I also sauted the vegtables in butter before adding to the soup, and I added a clove of minced garlic while sauteing. I also added some broccoli chopped up farily small. A very good recipie, it will taste even better in the winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 8,073) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States