Delicious Ham and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
So easy and soo YUMMY!! Best potato soup I have ever had. It really isn't a lot of chopping in my opinion. I measured out all of the ingredients and only used 3 medium potatoes, 1 stalk of celery, a 1/3 of an onion and a small portion of ham. I made sure to have my milk ready so the butter didn't burn and slowly poured a little in at a time. I found taking it away from the heat during this time helped reduce the chance for "lumps".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
Oh my my! This is the BEST potato soup recipe I have ever come across... Of course I added some (real) bacon bits when it was close to being done and when it was done, I added some cheddar cheese. Phenomenal recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybugbck

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
Awesome recipe!!! Soup came out great... Instead of using butter to thicken I used organic coconut oil and turmeric intstead of salt for seasoning... Didn't take long to make and now we have a delicious hot tasty soup on this cold cold day!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kayla Aoyama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
Very simple and very good. I can never get my milk to thicken with flour and just gave up on it, but when I put it in the simmering soup it thickened right up! I was pleasantly surprised. I used chopped leftover ham, which is always tastier than the diced wet ham from grocery store. Per other reviews I also added carrots and I used red potatoes bc that's what I had. I did not add salt since I used chicken stock (that wasn't low sodium). Will definitely make this again when we have leftover ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
Have been making this soup for years--simply the BEST! Easy and Delicious. This is my go to soup on cold days. I have prepared it with whole milk, 2% and even skim and all are delicious. I am always asked for the recipe when I serve it to guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
Absolute Delicious!!! It's hands down the best potato soup recipe I've found. Admittedly I tweeted it a little. I had to use chicken broth instead of some of the water since I had no bullion cubes, and I added a little potato flakes as I like my potato soup a bit thicker. But those are just minor things. And the milk sauce adds just the right amount of creamy yumminess!! Thank you so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Lenoir

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
This went over very well with the family. It is really quick to make, just perfect for the tight nights.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
I used this recipe as a base and tweaked it a bit and it still turned out so so delicious. Even my kids, who are very picky, loved it. Instead of using chicken bullion, I used leftover ham bone and water for stock. Also used a few springs of fresh thyme like one user recommended. Once the vegetables were cooked, I used a hand blender in the pot to make the soup thick and creamy then added the ham. Added salt and pepper to taste. Since blending the soup made it thick, I decided to omit the butter, flour and milk, I didn't do any measuring and eyeballed everything according to how much water was used for the stock. The ham broth and fresh thyme just made everything tie together. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Great soup recipe! I followed the recipe, then decided I'd like it a little thicker. I used another reviewer's tip to add instant mashed potato flakes to thicken it up. Perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
This dish is absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 8,315) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States