Delicious Ham and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
This was a very good soup on a cold evening, when I wasn't feeling well. It actually reminded me a lot of my mom's New England Clam Chowder with ham instead of clams. Just good all around comfort food. I made some changes, mostly by accident. I used more like 4 cups of (red) potatoes. And then because I wasn't feeling well, I misread the amount of onion and celery, so ended up using a little more than twice the amount called for. I sautéed the onion in a little oil before adding it to the soup, but that is just a personal preference thing with the onion consistency. I like it soft in a soup, and just boiling it never gets it soft enough for me. I used an 8 oz package of diced ham. I did not add any salt to this recipe because ham and bouillon already have quite a bit. I decided to wait to see if it really needed it later. I used half black pepper, half white. I thought the water looked like not enough liquid, and again because I wasn't feeling well, hadn't read ahead to see how much milk would be added, so I added an extra cup of water. I cooked the milk mixture much longer than the recipe stated to get it to thicken. I finally turned it up to medium heat, and it took more like 10 minutes. The result was yummy, and I have already enjoyed leftovers and will make again. Next time, I will only use 1 tablespoon of bouillon, and half the pepper, and leave out that extra cup of water. Everything else I'll keep just how I made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
This is one of the best recipes! My husband likes this version better than what his mother used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jenni.verstraeten
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
I am lactose intolerant, so I ended up using lactose free milk... It didn't thicken up as much as I thought it would, but it was still good! I also left out the onions and celery due to my weird texture issues. Very good and very easy! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
Followed as directed. The only thing I added was Sour Cream to the Soup,just before serving.This kicked it up a notch. So Good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lockport's Hot Dog Cart King

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lockport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
pretty good. its nice to be able to add diff veg to it, i substituted half the water for low sodium chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I prepared this soup exactly to the way the recipe says, and I loved it! It came out so creamy......I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: East Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
The BEST recipe I've found to date. It's better than my old favorite from Bennigan's before they closed. Who knew soup could be this tasty?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mekaret27

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
Amazing. Delicious and very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
This recipe was amazing. So quick and easy to make and so very yummy. There is absolutely nothing I would change and that almost never happens! My husband and sons loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wheatland, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
I have been making this soup for years and I make it almost the same. I boil the ham and use the broth instead of water, my celery, onion and potatoes cook together, add extra potato, make the roux and bacon on the side, add extra milk if needed along with eggs ,use chicken broth instead,top with bacon when finished in the bowl and you have a man pleaser soup! Loading it up with more potatoes makes it hearty...this puts chunky soups to shame!! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 8,015) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States