Delicious Ham and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
Love it! Comfort food for sure, very satisfying, creamy and delicious. I put half and half instead of milk to make it more creamy, and instead of bouillon granules and water, used chicken stock right from grocery shelf (not chicken broth). Comes out super tasty, and not hard to make. I also use a potato ricer to smash the potatoes just a little after cooking which releases some potato starch and thickens the soup nicely, still leaves some chunks of potato, perfect texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 8LifeGrande
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
Made it for my 4 year old and my 16 year old and we LOVED it! I topped it with crumbled bacon and cheddar cheese! YUMMY!! It reminds me of my favorite Splash Cafe clam chowder! So warm and comforting! Thank you for sharing this recipe! I can't wait to try it with a few different variations as suggested by another reviewer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Murrieta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
Thank you. This was yummy. I added some Longhorn cheese and can't wait to share it with my little sister once she comes back from school.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
WOW!! I've been using a different recipe for potato soup for years and decided to try a new one ..... GLAD I DID!! This was exceptional. I made it without changes ...... and don't expect to make any changes going forward. I used smoked ham and it was really tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hot Springs Village, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
Followed recipe exactly. Husband LOVED it! Kids thought it was ok. I thought it was a little too thick. Will add carrots (as suggested by other reviewers) and more water next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jenger89
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
I added bacon versus the ham- delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
This soup is SO good! My family loved it. I added a little more ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
This recipe was good but it was too salty. I followed the recipe without adding additional salt. I believe 2 TBSP of bullion is too much. However it was tasty. Next will not add as much bullion. I topped it with some shredded cheddar cheese and chives
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
Simply Delicious!!! I tried this recipe exactly as written and it was absolutely delicious! This is a winner...5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
This is a very good Potato/Ham soup. I changed nothing but did top it with shredded cheddar cheese. A favorite of mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 8,587) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States