David's Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
With no disrespect to other reviewers who had a variety of issues and criticisms with this recipe, it occurs to me that either they are too familiar with boxed yellow cake, or are unfamiliar with basic, scratch, cake making techniques. True, boxed yellow cake is more moist, but it tastes, well, like boxed cake mix, which is unmistakable and just plain bad. True, scratch butter cakes can have a tendency to be a little dry, particularly yellow butter cakes. But this yellow cake is definitely better than any I have ever tried in my 50 years of baking--more moist than most, flavorful, and with a light and tender crumb. Cream your butter and sugar well, a good few minutes. This is key for a light and fluffy cake! Follow the recipe directions carefully--add yolks one at a time, blending well after each addition. Add the flour and milk separately and with a light hand, beginning and ending with the flour. And do not overbake! If your cake is dry or dense you are not following the directions. I made half a recipe in an 8x8" pan and frosted it with half a recipe of "Buttercream Icing." I challenge you to find a better yellow cake with buttercream frosting in any well-respected neighborhood bakery, or in any old-fashioned baker's recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2099 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
This is the BEST yellow cake recipe there is.My search ends here.The only difference that i did was to take away 2tbsps of the regular AP flour in each cup and substitute it with 2tbsps of cornstarch as suggested by another reviewer.I did this as i didnt have any cake flour on hand.The cake came out moist,fluffy and delish.Beats a boxed mix anyday. As a tip for new bakers like myself: 1.Absolutely do sift the flour and baking powders twice for maximum integration. 2.Do beat the yolks one by one ,it adds to the fluffiness. 3.Once the batter is poured into the pan,tap the pan a few times on top of the counter so that batter will spread evenly and rise evenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
707 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
This is the best yellow cake recipe. I normally use 4 whole eggs instead of the 8 yolks (because I don't really have a use for the whites) and I use regular all-purpose flour and it comes out great every time. I usually frost my cakes with buttercream icing and everyone tells me they are great. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
545 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gainesville, Florida, USA
Living In: Valdosta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
After trying this recipe for the first time I found it a little dry, dense, and eggy, so I experimented with it to change the flavor and texture. I used 5 eggs, 3 whole eggs, 2 egg yolks, I added 1/2 cup more flour(all purpose), instead of 3/4 c milk I used 1 1/4 cup low-fat buttermilk (to make more moist). After making these few adjustments my cakes come out just the way I like them Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
185 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2003
The first time I baked this cake, I forgot to take out the egg whites - Yuck! It was really bad. However, the next time, I took the egg whites out and I was blown away - this is by far the best tasting yellow cake I have ever had! And I don't bake - ever! The fact that it came out so amazingly well absolutely floored me! My family loved it too! IF ever I need to fix a yellow cake again, I won't go near a cake mix. David, Betty Crocker doesn't have anything on you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
141 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
I've made this cake several times and I think it's so moist that I like to eat it without any icing on it at all. It is not dry as others have stated. If you think it's too dry you're either not measuring the ingredients properly, not using the ingredients stated in the recipe, or you're overbaking the cake. Use a toothpick to test if the cake is done. Touching the top of the cake to see if it springs back isn't as a reliable test for doneness with this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2005
Cornbread my Aunt Fanny. I don't know where people are getting the idea that this cake tastes like cornbread. I don't know what kind of cornbread you all are eating but last time I checked cornbread had cornmeal in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
Okay, so here's the thing. I made this with my five year old son and for all that know him, he's kind of a spastic. I was worried about the outcome of this cake because first, we lost track of the count of the egg yolks (I THINK we put in eight, but I can't be sure--it was kind of chaotic) and then I didn't have cake flour so I googled what to do to make the AP flour I had work (minus two tablespoons flour). We followed the directions pretty closely EXCEPT we added the milk slowly at the end because.....we'll, like I said, it was chaotic. We taste-tested the batter and even before baking, it was OMG good. Like almost sugary custardy awesomeness. My youngest and I watched the cake bake in the oven via the oven light (food t.v.) and even with our maybe accidental mix up of counting egg yolks and adding the milk last, we still had a beautifully risen cake that baked up just like it was supposed to. Hoo-rah! I don't get all the bad reviews. If my son and I can pull off this cake, you can, too! We haven't had a chance to taste test it yet, but we will after dinner and I'll update my review then. EDITED: This cake turned out dry and crumbled just like cornbread, just like a lot of the reviews stated it would. Darn. I'll try this again and maybe cut back the baking time by five minutes. Baking it for thirty minutes just was too long, maybe. I think it might even be a little too sweet, but the boys liked it so I'll leave the sugar as is. This would be a good base for Pop Cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2002
I usually just use box cakes but didn't have one in the house so I tried this one. The cake was delicious and moist. The only drawback was using 8 egg yolks. It seems like a lot to use (especially if you pay for organic eggs!) But, I like the idea of my kids ingesting butter instead of loads of hydrogenated fat in the boxes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
I've used this recipe several times now after experimenting with some other yellow cake recipes found on this site. This is by far the moistest, most delicious homemade yellow cake I've ever baked, and I bake a lot. I took a suggestion from other reviewers and used 4 yolks and 2 whole eggs. I've baked it in all forms: cupcakes(1/2 full about 15 min), 2 9" rounds (20-21 min), 9x13 (30 min) and it always comes out amazingly. For those people having problems with your cake sinking--check your baking powder and make sure it is fresh. Old/stale baking powder is the prime cause of cakes sinking. Just want to send a big THANK YOU to David for sharing such a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,014) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States