David's Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
I just made this recipe and here's MY opinion of it. First off it made one 9.5" and three 6" round cakes. I used butter instead of shortening (as there's a version of this same recipe that calls for butter in lieu of shortening) and I followed everything else to a T! I do like the recipe as my cakes came out fluffy and moist! The one thing that I find is, the cake could be a little sweeter. I am a cake baker/decorator for many years now and I think I'm going to start using this recipe (+ an additional 1/2c sugar) as the base for my cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iLove2cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
Turned out FANTASTIC! I used a cream cheese frosting on top and it was amazing, eaten by the family in just one sitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
Best cake recipe EVER!! Thank you thank you thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
The ONLY reason I am giving this cake recipe four stars instead of five is due to my modification of the recipe. I did not want to waste eight egg whites. I wouldn't have used them for anything, so I decided to substitute four duck eggs for the eight egg yolks. Cake turned out amazing. It's very sweet and moist. Will definitely use this recipe over and over, with the simple egg switch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celena White

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Absolutely yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Dave, You promised a moist cake and you did not disappoint. Hands down the best yellow cake recipe I have encountered. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
This cake is awesome! Iit is a foolproof recipe. I think it is key cream together the butter and sugar very well. It may take 5 minutes for it to get light and fluffy. I also used for whole eggs as another reviewer said and it turned out perfect. I added a thin layer of raspberry jam in between each layer of cake and it was awesome! Everyone at my daughters 1st birthday love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tera Byard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
This was my first time ever baking a cake from scratch. Followed the recipe and nailed it! Super moist. very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
Other than my Grandma's pound cake, this is the only cake I make. Sweet, moist, rich and delicious enough to eat right out of the pan without frosting, though it is fabulous with chocolate buttercream frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
This recipe is a keeper! I have tried several different cake recipes and have never been successful . They are either too dense or too dry. This cake turned out great! My husband loved his birthday cake and my kids were impressed that I made it from scratch. I will definitely be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,092) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States