David's Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
If you want a super moist yellow cake look no further. It's super delicious, soft and moist. It doesn't taste eggy the flavors are very balanced and perfect. I followed the recipe to the t except I used regular flour since I didn't have cake flour if you do that remember to omit 2 tbsp flour for each cup of flour. Believe me this is a keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
I took the advice and just used regular all purpose flour and 8 whole eggs instead of only the yolks. I made 24 regular sized cupcakes with this recipe, and they came out so good. I can see why some people would say they are cornbread-esque. But they are a big-crumbed yellow cake, very delicious-- but if you are looking for a fine crumb or something light and airy this isn't it. This is a dense, moist yellow cake. It's exactly what I was looking for! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plantation, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
I ended up adding about 1/2 the whites and a bit more milk but the cake is awesome..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
This recipe was gooey and tasted like eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
This turned out great! My daughter is allergic to soy so we can't use the mixes. I tried this out for her birthday cupcakes and paired it with a meringue buttercream frosting and I didn't want to stop eating it. I followed the recipe exactly (I may have added just a splash extra milk) and then stuck the cupcakes in the freezer overnight. I frosted them the next day and we have our new favorite cake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Wilson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
I beat the heck out of the sugar and butter and the same every time I added each of 5 whole eggs. I even used 1cup of lite almond milk and baked it an even 30 minutes. Wonderfully moist and delicious! I topped it with this icing: box of instant pudding with 1/2 the milk and fold in 1/2 tub cool whip. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Sullivan Garcia
Home Town: Livingston, Illinois, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jean
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Sunk in the middle, so it looks like an inverted volcano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
This was a delicious, MOIST cake with a VERY tender crumb. I will never, ever use a boxed mix again! It is by far the best cake recipe I have ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsford, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
Definitely the best yellow cake recipe I have ever tried. I made this for my son's birthday and everyone commented on how good it was. I would say its important to follow standard cake making steps like adding the yolks one at a time and making sure that the butter and sugar are creamed well. I was worried when I read the review that compared it to cornbread, but there is no resemblance between the two. Thanks for contributing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele Davis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,087) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States