David's Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
I made a delicious Pineapple upside down cake today using this for the cake instead of a box mix. It was moist and very flavorful. I will keep this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Undoubtedly THE best yellow cake I've ever had, a sentiment shared by each member of my family, INCLUDING my impossible to please mother in law. Easy to make, surprising light, velvet smooth. The cake flour makes all the difference, don't cut that corner. I used the sour cream frosting recipe from this site, added mini chocolate chips between the layers and on top. SOOOOOO GOOD!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
If you want a super moist yellow cake look no further. It's super delicious, soft and moist. It doesn't taste eggy the flavors are very balanced and perfect. I followed the recipe to the t except I used regular flour since I didn't have cake flour if you do that remember to omit 2 tbsp flour for each cup of flour. Believe me this is a keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
I took the advice and just used regular all purpose flour and 8 whole eggs instead of only the yolks. I made 24 regular sized cupcakes with this recipe, and they came out so good. I can see why some people would say they are cornbread-esque. But they are a big-crumbed yellow cake, very delicious-- but if you are looking for a fine crumb or something light and airy this isn't it. This is a dense, moist yellow cake. It's exactly what I was looking for! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plantation, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
I ended up adding about 1/2 the whites and a bit more milk but the cake is awesome..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
This recipe was gooey and tasted like eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
This turned out great! My daughter is allergic to soy so we can't use the mixes. I tried this out for her birthday cupcakes and paired it with a meringue buttercream frosting and I didn't want to stop eating it. I followed the recipe exactly (I may have added just a splash extra milk) and then stuck the cupcakes in the freezer overnight. I frosted them the next day and we have our new favorite cake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Wilson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
I beat the heck out of the sugar and butter and the same every time I added each of 5 whole eggs. I even used 1cup of lite almond milk and baked it an even 30 minutes. Wonderfully moist and delicious! I topped it with this icing: box of instant pudding with 1/2 the milk and fold in 1/2 tub cool whip. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Sullivan Garcia
Home Town: Livingston, Illinois, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jean
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Sunk in the middle, so it looks like an inverted volcano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
This was a delicious, MOIST cake with a VERY tender crumb. I will never, ever use a boxed mix again! It is by far the best cake recipe I have ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsford, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,079) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States