David's Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
I thought it was closer to a pound cake recipe I had tried before...i am NOT a professional in the food industry, just as plain ole' stay at home mom, but i strive to be awesome at it...especially when there is a birthday party. I tried this recipe for my husband's birthday party yesterday, where there were lots of adults and children. Most of the kids ate it, but several didn't like it, and all the adults had some but when I cleaned up I noticed that not many people ate more than a couple bites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
Great recipe. Followed directions exactly. Made sure to use cake flour. Cake was moist, light and delicious. Would happily make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
this cake was delicious. Did not change anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweething4

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
I'm not sure why others complained about a dry cake, ours was super moist and delicious. My only modification was that I used 5 eggs (4 whole eggs and 1 yolk only). I used organic eggs that are not as huge as some in the regular packages. I also beat the sugar and butter a good bit as well as the eggs - adding them one at a time. Follow up: I've made this cake several times now and it has always turned out wonderfully! Will NEVER by a box cake again. :) I didn't have cake flour so I used all purpose flour and reduced the amount by 2 TBS per 1 C of all purpose flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I was apprehensive about this recipe, considering the astronomical differences in some of the reviews, but it turned out quite well! I think a lot of the inconsistencies in the way the recipe turns out depends on how you combine the ingredients. Unlike other cake recipes, this one doesn't specify which method to blend everything together! If you use a mixer to make the cake, it should incorporate enough air to get a super fluffy cake, more like that of a boxed mix. I combined everything by hand (no access to a mixer), and while the flavor was delicious, it was a bit more dense than I expected (more like a cross between a pound cake and a sponge cake). I haven't made a lot of cakes in my day, but this seems like the most obvious reason people might be having trouble (aside from weird oven temps or changing/bad ingredients). All that aside, the flavor of this cake was delicious! Both the batter and the finished product had a nice, sweet vanilla taste without being overwhelming. I made a double layer cake, and added blackcurrant jam between the top and bottom layers, then topped the cake with dark chocolate ganache. It was a huge hit! My boyfriend, who hates yellow cake, even admitted it was the best one he's ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I really hope that it is not a case of beginners luck but this cake turned out really good for me. I had recently made 3 sugary "cornbread" cakes prior to trying this recipe which all ended up in the trash. I was hesitant to try this recipe because of the 8 egg yolks which I felt was a bit much to waste if it didn't turn out right. Even thought others mentioned using 4 whole eggs, I didn't want to alter the recipe. I followed the advice of many reviewers and sifted the cake flour baking power and salt twice, I beat the butter/sugar mixture for about 10 minutes, added each egg yolk one at a time and mixed it a little extra after adding the last egg. It actually turned out great. I am thankful to the reviewer that indicated it is not a good idea to wait for the cake to turn brown. It was done when it was a golden yellow color and I would have likely waited too long to test it without that advice. I am going to try it again to make cupcakes for my kids birthday party next week and hope to get the same results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
This cake is simple to make and it tastes delicious! Exactly what I was looking for. I didn't have white sugar so I used brown. It tastes amazing. The kids loved it. Thanks for the recipe! I will use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
This was the best yellow cake I ever had. It was moist, light and a big hit at family & friends function! Now they want me to bake all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I do scratch baking for all my cookies but this is the first cake the I did from scratch. I made muffins with the mix and I used 4 whole eggs instead and I also used some sugar stevia blend for part of the sugar that was called for. I thought that the cake mix came out with a nice moist consistency and it was light and airy but the flavor I feel is very mild and almost like a corn bread or biscuit because it is not very sweet. The cupcakes will work out because I put in an apple filing and made my frosting sweeter which made up for the lack of sweetness in the cake. But if I didn't have a filling I don't think I would be able to disguise the fact that they kinda taste like corn bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
I have baked it now and I love it, it 's very delicious. The most delicious . I want to fill with 2 kind of ice- cream and decorate the top with whippened cream. I read the recipe in the book , by written Julia Child " The way to cook". Thank you very much !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,030) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States