Dave's Low Country Boil Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
My family has always had lo' country boils and it's absolutely the best meal ever! A few "family hints": add 1 or 2 whole lemons (just cut them in half and drop 'em in), 2 or 3 medium size onions(quartered), two datil peppers (these are a florida thang) and leave the heads and shells on the shrimp for more flavor (wash them before cooking of course, but peel 'em on your plate. Although I have to admit, I like it when the heads aren't on - they look at me otherwise and I feel sorry for them!), You can omit the crabs if you want(or leave them in) or you can use whole crawfish like another review suggested. We also use the boil-in-bag bay seasoning..it's easier! This meal IS best served by dumping it in the middle of the table on newspaper and then everyone just grabs a paper plate and loads up! I promise you, you won't be sorry if you make these additions! Now THAT is a lo' country boil Florida style!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
690 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2006
We went to a "Southern" Wedding Reception where this was served, speaking from experience this is the perfect recipe!!! A few suggestions would be to sprinkle food with extra seasoning when completed & serve with squirt butter and cocktail sauce (just a preference of ours)Perfect for almost any man...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grovetown, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2006
Good Grub! My family thought they had died and gone to heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
This was one heck of a boil! Cooked it exactly by the recipe. Had around 10 people over and everything was eaten but 1 piece of corn. Everyone raved about it. I WILL make this again. Thanks for a great get together recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Macclenny, Florida, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
Is there anything wrong with this recipe? nope! I live in Arizona and its hard to get fresh seafood, so my crab and shrimp were pre-cooked and this still came out great!!! And it is loads of fun to just throw the food on the newspapers and pick at it!!! Non-seafood people will also enjoy this one as it is a good way for them to try seafood. I used stone crab claws, and one crab and it was awsome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
This was Amazing!!! Guys stayed at the table until every piece was gone! I will use this recipe many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laporte, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2006
This was very good. We sized it down to 3 servings, put 3/4 C Old Bay in 6 qts. of water, & substituted crawfish for the crab. Also found out crawfish are YUMMY*^_^*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
Excellent recipie. I definately suggest adding the Lemon & onion to the cooking pot, but it's a matter of taste. Here in North Carolina we also call this Frogmore stew. Really great to serve outdoors to a large crowd!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2006
LOVE IT!!!!I am already getting requests for the fourth of July!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2006
Great easy recipe, particularly for entertaining a large group. Hard to determine amount of seasoning needed, but overall a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 257) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dave’s Low Country Boil

Turn dinner into an event with an authentic crab boil. See how it’s done!

Authentic Low-Country Crab Boil

In just 99 seconds, we’ll show you how to throw an authentic crab boil!

Frogmore Stew

See how to make a traditional South Carolina shrimp stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States