Dave's Low Country Boil Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2003
Warning -- you will eat so much of this you will feel sick!!! Our family version of this recipe includes adding the juice of two lemons, cayenne pepper, cloves, and bay leaves to the water. Oh so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
756 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
My family has always had lo' country boils and it's absolutely the best meal ever! A few "family hints": add 1 or 2 whole lemons (just cut them in half and drop 'em in), 2 or 3 medium size onions(quartered), two datil peppers (these are a florida thang) and leave the heads and shells on the shrimp for more flavor (wash them before cooking of course, but peel 'em on your plate. Although I have to admit, I like it when the heads aren't on - they look at me otherwise and I feel sorry for them!), You can omit the crabs if you want(or leave them in) or you can use whole crawfish like another review suggested. We also use the boil-in-bag bay seasoning..it's easier! This meal IS best served by dumping it in the middle of the table on newspaper and then everyone just grabs a paper plate and loads up! I promise you, you won't be sorry if you make these additions! Now THAT is a lo' country boil Florida style!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
690 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2006
Awesome! I used 3/4 cup Old Bay to 6 quarts of water as per the Frogmore Stew recipe. I used turkey kielbasa (to cut down on the fat), shrimp, clams, sea scallops and a baby lobster tail per person. It was to die for! I suggest using a turkey fryer as it has the basket with holes in it and you don't have to worry about dumping out the water and keeping the food in the pot. You can't go wrong...add whatever seafood and spices you have and it's perfect. Wonderful recipe to feed a crowd!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
571 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2007
The only MAJOR deviation I've found over the years from the recipe I use is to add the sausage toward the end, just before the shrimp, otherwise the pre-cooked sausage will be overcooked and split apart. Otherwise, a great meal for any occasion! Go Dawgs!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
214 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
We added 3 lemons cut in half, 4 onions, a couple of handfuls of garlic cloves & a couple of pounds of littleneck clams (which got lost in the mix so we won't repeat) & followed the rest of the ingredient amounts in recipe. We had 13 adults & 2 children & still had some leftover but we also served several appies. I wish the seasoning amounts were more specific...our's didn't have quite enough but now we know for next time. I also wish I had used a much thicker layer of newspaper on the tables....you need a lot to absorb the moisture & prevent it from tearing on you when you clean up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
182 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2003
Simply delicious. My hubby and I lived in the lowcountry of GA (in Savannah) and dined at a local restaurant by the ocean that served this. We ate it all the time until we moved back to NY, where you CANNOT find lowcountry boils!!! I was having a pregnancy craving for this dish and made it last night for dinner. It's been nearly a year without us having this dish and it is GREAT! This recipe was very similar to the taste of the boils we ordered at The Crab Shack (not the chain) on Tybee Island, GA! Wonderful blend of tastes and I WILL use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
158 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2004
Excellent recipe! We did this last night for a group of people on the deck. I also used the recipe on this website for Frogmore Stew, it's similar, but gives a better idea of how much Old Bay to use. I cut the corn and potatoes in half so the shrimp wouldn't seem so small!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marionfive

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
This recipe is outstanding. We added some white onions, lemons, and garlic cloves to the water. We also added Old Bay plus some Cajun seasoning to spice it up. The next day, we combined the leftover seafood and sausage with some mayo and celery for yummy cold sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Mentor, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
Made this tonight for the neighbors and had great reviews. Measured: 1 cup of Old Bay Seasoning. Added: 1 bay leaf, 2 lemons quartered, 2 vidalia onions quartered, 1/2 of a bass pale ale and 1 lb of mussels. Filled a 22 qt pot 40% with water, the dash of bass and added the seasonings and bay leaf and brought to a boil. Once boiling I added the 5 lbs of quartered potato's and the lemons and cooked for 10 minutes. I then added the precooked kelbasa and onions and cooked for another 5 minutes. Finished it off with the shrimp, crab legs, and mussels cooking for another 5 minutes and sitting for a final 5 in the pot. Drained and tossed in the middle of the table for the big finish. Everyone ate themselves silly. We will be doing this again with no additional changes. Great Recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
This was a smashing sucess!!! Everyone wanted to know how to make this meal.....thanks Angela
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 257) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dave’s Low Country Boil

Turn dinner into an event with an authentic crab boil. See how it’s done!

Authentic Low-Country Crab Boil

In just 99 seconds, we’ll show you how to throw an authentic crab boil!

Frogmore Stew

See how to make a traditional South Carolina shrimp stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States