Dave's Low Country Boil Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 30, 2012
This was a hit! I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
I also add 2-3 onions and 2 lemons to this recipe-But the best addition is to add fresh whole white mushrooms! They really soak up the flavors of the boil-I add them with the corn and the crab-if you like mushrooms, you will love these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
This was delicious. Added 1 quartered lemon and some fresh chopped parsley at the end. Served with an ice cold beer and a crusty bread to soak up some broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Coral Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Great for parties. Easy to make, and exciting for guests. The recipe is for 15 but I consistently find that it feeds about 20 adults.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABoston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tifton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Manhattan Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
This is a popular meal at our house. Our friends ask for this. I vary it somewhat, but generally follow the recipe. I use 2 Zatarain's seasoning packs in my cooker (large turkey fryer works best) and salting the water is a MUST. I toss in a couple of lemons, some quartered Vidalia onions and also add a cup or 2 of white vinegar to the water. The vinegar is supposed to make the shrimp peeling easier. Never been an issue so I can't say that it definitely works. Finally, when serving, I dump it all into a large, flat, plastic (Sterlite, Rubbermaid)storage container like one would slide under your bed. And throw a few sticks of butter in/on and toss it. Old Bay for individual seasoning too which will still to the butter. The storage container makes clean-up MUCH easier. Leftovers, if any, get put into Ziploc bags for the next day or a midnight snack. Really good stuff, especially if the corn crop is good. Here in the east, this year is absolutely fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by russ
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
Great recipe. Used 2 lemons halved and 2 onions. The shrimp cook quickly. Cold beer. Happy wife.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Delicious!! Added Bay Leaf, garlic powder and chopped onion and turkey smoked sausage. Reduced recipe for 4 and used crab legs. Boo said I was spoiling him :) Will make again and will add clams & scallops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
A house favorite! Great group meal! I added a bit of chili flakes and spicy sausage, along with an onion and a bit of white wine along with the boiling water! Mmm mmm. Also used baby red potatoes and cooked them a bit longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlantic Beach, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Each Summer, our family gets together for this wondeerful Low Country meal. I make cocktail sauce, hushpuppies and cold slaw for 50+ people and they LOVE it. Thank you for putting it in the All Recipes online cookbook. Great addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rnewbyus

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 271) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Dave’s Low Country Boil

Turn dinner into an event with an authentic crab boil. See how it’s done!

Authentic Low-Country Crab Boil

In just 99 seconds, we’ll show you how to throw an authentic crab boil!

Frogmore Stew

See how to make a traditional South Carolina shrimp stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States