Dave's Low Country Boil Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
Oh man, now what good eating. Thanks for this one. The Mrs. and I really enjoyed this one and so easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
For shellfish purists there is nothing better than a good old "Boil"! Both the dish's name and a fun family &/or friends event all in itself, a Boil can be anything you want it to be, really. For instance. we enjoy all types of shellfish, so I always throw in a couple different varieties of steamers (clams in the shell...TIP: If the clam shells don't pop open when cooked, do NOT eat them), and I always add extra crab claws since these are a real big favorite. I go a step further by adding lobster claws as well. I prefer to use the Old Bay Seasoning in bags...2 or 3 is about right for a big lobster sized pot, which is about 2 to 3 times larger than the dutch oven size most folks have in their set of cookware. I add a couple of lemons; halved; I give ea half one good squeeze and throw it in the pot. When you're doing corn & potatoes altogether lemon might not be to your liking; it's all about your personal taste. For a big group I put out a good sized sauce pan of drawn (melted clarified) butter, with a gravy ladle and small ramekins for self serve along with a good size dish of lemon wedges. A bottle of tobasco will be welcomed by some, particularly if you're doing crawfish. I usually skip the sausage, as we prefer to grill some brats separately. If you've never done a Boil before, don't worry! Try not to overcook your shellfish; the rest takes care of itself! Let everyone take turns at the ice cream churn for a simple yummy dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoriMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Somerville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
One of the best things that I had in a while! Make sure to use the ingredients from tho. Those ones are more accurate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Made this for my son's 15th birthday dinner, fantastic! I left out the cayenne and wished I hadn't. Will be making again and adding the cayenne :) Used more sausage and less crab leg and shrimp, easier on the pocketbook. Very good and fun famiy dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovebeingamom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Twin Falls, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
This was fantastic! We doubled the ears of corn and added 2 onions (quartered) along with 2 lemons cut in half. We didn't find crabs at the grocery or Whole Foods so instead we pan fried a lb of sea scallops seasoned with a mixture of 1 Tbs Old Bay dissolved in 1/4 cup of melted butter. We then tossed the scallops into the final low country boil product AFTER all was removed from the boiling water. Never put scallops into boiling water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
I have made this recipe several times. It has become my family's non-traditional Christmas tradition! We absolutely love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Threw some bay leaves in the water as well. This food was fun and delicious. I saw this on TV a week or so ago and I wanted to do it myself. This recipe is pretty much spot-on. I continued to taste my boiling water to make sure it was seasoned enough. The Old Bay did make the water a little on the spicy side but it didn't relate to the food. I have kids and they don't really care for spicy stuff. I think the Old Bay has a decent amount of pepper in it. It's a great dish and easy to do, perfect for parties or anytime for that matter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
WOW! We took a chance and made this for the first time a big crowd of freinds and they LOVED IT! We added mussels, lemons, onions, garlic, beer LOTS of old bay, cajun seasoning and tabasco sauce. Took a liitle longer than 30 mins (i used larger taters), but overall fantastic. Oh, we used a turkey fryer and only added half of the crab legs to the boil and aggreed we perfer our crab legs steamed. Again, overall great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
A Family Favorite! We usually add 3 or 4 whole artichokes (tips trimmed) early on in the cooking and break the ears of corn in half before tossing them in about 5 minutes before the shrimp. We use a little more spicy- sometimes throwing in a few peppers from the garden. We serve with small bowls of melted butter and minced garlic for dipping ... mmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
best of the best add mussels clams and lobster tails to all the good stuff. made it for 60 people and now it is a potluck thing. everybody brings a covered dish and extra to throw in the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Gaston, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 257) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dave’s Low Country Boil

Turn dinner into an event with an authentic crab boil. See how it’s done!

Authentic Low-Country Crab Boil

In just 99 seconds, we’ll show you how to throw an authentic crab boil!

Frogmore Stew

See how to make a traditional South Carolina shrimp stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States