Dave's Low Country Boil Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
This was very good and easy to make! I have always wonder what a boil like this would taste and wasn't let down at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Selinna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bentonville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Bella Vista, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Delish! After reading some of the reviews here, I decided to add lots more seafood seasoning (Old Bay), Cajun seasoning, Italian seasoning, black pepper and three healthy-sized cloves of fresh/crushed garlic to the boiling water (hence, the four stars and not five). In addition, I cooked the corn on the cobb and potatoes a little longer than the 10 minutes stated in the recipe and added scallops along with the crab legs and shrimp. Wish I had enough $$$ at the time to purchase a bag of fresh mussels to add to the recipe -- that would have made this dish outstanding. In any event, I will make this dish again and again. Thank you Lisa and thank you allrecipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
I tried this recipe tonight just to say that we celebrated New Years Eve eating a meal outside of our norm. I stopped short of making myself sick eating this. I didn't do this outside, so I had to split this recipe into two pots. I actually let one of them sit on the stove while we ate the first pot. The items in the second pot had a bit of a kick. I did as some of the other reviewers suggested, and I added 1 lemon(halved), one onion (quartered), and two bay leaves to the pots. It would have probably been good without these additions. Everyone enjoyed it, including my two picky eaters who are 6 and 10. My 12 year old, husband, and I enjoyed that added spiciness in the second pot. This made an awesome New Years Eve dinner and we will have to do this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
This is really good and easy. I changed the serving size to 8. Cut up the small red potatoes in forths or thirds, depending on size. I didn't have the seasoning so used a crab/shrimp boil in bag package. Melted some butter for the shrimp and crab and done! Wasn't able to cook outside but plan to do that next time. Family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Made this tonight for my family, did as others suggested and added the lemon, onions, and a little garlic. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
we eat this frequently- we boil the potatoes first, then corn, then the sausage and last the shrimp. we usually steam the crab separately. after everything is done we drain and put in large bowls and pour melted butter and sprinkle A LOT of Old Bay seasoning on the mixture. serve with tons and tons of napkins. we do triple all the amounts as we feed three hungry teenagers..lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tarpon Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
We served this to our guests visiting our campsite and they thought this was a fantastic dinner! Loved how easy it was to cook and dumping it on a large platter for everyone to help themselves! Leftovers were just as good for lunch the next day. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hamlin, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by traceyposner
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
Delicious! made it as written with the exception of using Zatarain's seasonging along with the Old Bay! A little spicy, but fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traceyposner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
Easy and Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Assumption, Illinois, USA
Living In: Heyworth, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jackie pyett
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
This recipe is phenomenal. You will eat yourself sick everything is so delicious. I made a few changes (due to items I had on hand) I used Yukon Gold Potatoes and smoked Turkey Sausage and I didn't peel the shrimp, I simply put them in their as they were. I will be making this again Sunday for our Labor Day Cookout
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 251) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dave’s Low Country Boil

Turn dinner into an event with an authentic crab boil. See how it’s done!

Authentic Low-Country Crab Boil

In just 99 seconds, we’ll show you how to throw an authentic crab boil!

Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits

Tender shrimp with sausage and peppers served over cheesy grits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States