Dave's Low Country Boil Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
This was one heck of a boil! Cooked it exactly by the recipe. Had around 10 people over and everything was eaten but 1 piece of corn. Everyone raved about it. I WILL make this again. Thanks for a great get together recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Macclenny, Florida, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2006
LOVE IT!!!!I am already getting requests for the fourth of July!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2006
Great easy recipe, particularly for entertaining a large group. Hard to determine amount of seasoning needed, but overall a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
This was Amazing!!! Guys stayed at the table until every piece was gone! I will use this recipe many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laporte, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2006
Good Grub! My family thought they had died and gone to heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
My family has always had lo' country boils and it's absolutely the best meal ever! A few "family hints": add 1 or 2 whole lemons (just cut them in half and drop 'em in), 2 or 3 medium size onions(quartered), two datil peppers (these are a florida thang) and leave the heads and shells on the shrimp for more flavor (wash them before cooking of course, but peel 'em on your plate. Although I have to admit, I like it when the heads aren't on - they look at me otherwise and I feel sorry for them!), You can omit the crabs if you want(or leave them in) or you can use whole crawfish like another review suggested. We also use the boil-in-bag bay seasoning..it's easier! This meal IS best served by dumping it in the middle of the table on newspaper and then everyone just grabs a paper plate and loads up! I promise you, you won't be sorry if you make these additions! Now THAT is a lo' country boil Florida style!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
580 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2006
This was very good. We sized it down to 3 servings, put 3/4 C Old Bay in 6 qts. of water, & substituted crawfish for the crab. Also found out crawfish are YUMMY*^_^*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
Excellent recipie. I definately suggest adding the Lemon & onion to the cooking pot, but it's a matter of taste. Here in North Carolina we also call this Frogmore stew. Really great to serve outdoors to a large crowd!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
Is there anything wrong with this recipe? nope! I live in Arizona and its hard to get fresh seafood, so my crab and shrimp were pre-cooked and this still came out great!!! And it is loads of fun to just throw the food on the newspapers and pick at it!!! Non-seafood people will also enjoy this one as it is a good way for them to try seafood. I used stone crab claws, and one crab and it was awsome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2006
We went to a "Southern" Wedding Reception where this was served, speaking from experience this is the perfect recipe!!! A few suggestions would be to sprinkle food with extra seasoning when completed & serve with squirt butter and cocktail sauce (just a preference of ours)Perfect for almost any man...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grovetown, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 246) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Dave’s Low Country Boil

Turn dinner into an event with an authentic crab boil. See how it’s done!

Authentic Low-Country Crab Boil

In just 99 seconds, we’ll show you how to throw an authentic crab boil!

Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits

Tender shrimp with sausage and peppers served over cheesy grits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States