Dave's Low Country Boil Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
I made this recipe for family and friends for 4th of July and it was AWESOME!!! Everyone LOVED it....nothig left but newspaper!! I would add the sausage toward the end before the shrimp next time. Flavor was lost a little by cooking so long, Definitely a new 4th of July tradition!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
I left out the crab, and but this is a family favorite at my house! Careful not to overcook the shrimp!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
This has got to be the most delicious meal EVER! Only added some garlic and onion and a bay leaf per a lady I met at the grocery! Too good! I made it for ten people and nothing left! I used 1 cup of bay seasoning and a generous amout of garlic and onion and of course made garlic butter to go with it! NUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiffanyandjohnk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
Great dinner everyone Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
This was a hit! I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
I also add 2-3 onions and 2 lemons to this recipe-But the best addition is to add fresh whole white mushrooms! They really soak up the flavors of the boil-I add them with the corn and the crab-if you like mushrooms, you will love these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
This was delicious. Added 1 quartered lemon and some fresh chopped parsley at the end. Served with an ice cold beer and a crusty bread to soak up some broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Coral Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Great for parties. Easy to make, and exciting for guests. The recipe is for 15 but I consistently find that it feeds about 20 adults.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABoston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tifton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Manhattan Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
This is a popular meal at our house. Our friends ask for this. I vary it somewhat, but generally follow the recipe. I use 2 Zatarain's seasoning packs in my cooker (large turkey fryer works best) and salting the water is a MUST. I toss in a couple of lemons, some quartered Vidalia onions and also add a cup or 2 of white vinegar to the water. The vinegar is supposed to make the shrimp peeling easier. Never been an issue so I can't say that it definitely works. Finally, when serving, I dump it all into a large, flat, plastic (Sterlite, Rubbermaid)storage container like one would slide under your bed. And throw a few sticks of butter in/on and toss it. Old Bay for individual seasoning too which will still to the butter. The storage container makes clean-up MUCH easier. Leftovers, if any, get put into Ziploc bags for the next day or a midnight snack. Really good stuff, especially if the corn crop is good. Here in the east, this year is absolutely fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by russ
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
Great recipe. Used 2 lemons halved and 2 onions. The shrimp cook quickly. Cold beer. Happy wife.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 245) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Dave’s Low Country Boil

Turn dinner into an event with an authentic crab boil. See how it’s done!

Authentic Low-Country Crab Boil

In just 99 seconds, we’ll show you how to throw an authentic crab boil!

Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits

Tender shrimp with sausage and peppers served over cheesy grits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States