Dark Chocolate Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by Kim Ostrom
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
I made a 6 serving size of this recipe to make 13 cupcakes for my son's 8th birthday. Used Pastry chef "ZZZORBA" suggestion and replaced 1/2 of the water for Buttermilk. You will need some of the boiling water to mix with the cocoa powder, let it cool then add your buttermilk. Half of the above recipe made about 13 cupcakes which I baked for about 15 minutes @ 350. We will be enjoying this recipe for many special events to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
I had to make a last minute cake for my grandson. Of course, it had to be chocolate. So I decided to cut the recipe in half and make cupcakes. The only thing I changed was I added 1 cup of sour cream ( sour cream makes it light and fluffy). It turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Loved this recipe! Easy to make, even the batter was gorgeous! My whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
This cake is AMAZING! I made it in cupcake form instead and baked them for 17 min. It made 35 cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
My daughter made it and was simple, moist .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
Fantastic! I used this as my Wedding Cake, layered with some yummy chocolate mocha mousse. We baked and frosted it a day and a half before and it was still rich and moist when we cut into it at the wedding. So Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
This turned so yummy !!! I made this cake for my dad's birthday with a cream cheese frosting and it turned so great. Thanks for this recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Renee
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
Wonderful, wonderful, cake! Comes out perfectly if you let the first mixture cool and are sure to beat the eggs in well. Scaled it down to a one- layer cake, iced with dark chocolate fudge icing and added fondant. Doesn't have the bitter taste that is sometimes associated with dark chocolate. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
super duper yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
Fail proof yummy. I got it backwards! I put the sugar and flour together (all the dry ingredients, in one bowl) when I realized what I did, I just plowed on through. I mixed the wet and combined them and said a little prayer, and the cake was heavenly!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 1,255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States