Dark Chocolate Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
This was FANTASTIC! I ended up halving it and making a different layer from a different layer. It worked out great but I really recommend watching the cooking video.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by iamcalm
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
This cake is incredibly moist and delicious! The only thing that took more time than I expected was cooling the chocolate mixture. I would recommend making the chocolate mixture in advanced for this reason! Otherwise this cake is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iamcalm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
Slightly dry although very chocolatey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
Used coffee instead of water but either way this cake always comes out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krysta

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
Made this for my Dad's birthday. Should have tried it out first... I have to join in with the many folks who say it was too dry (it WAS) and too hard to get out of the pans. I did use the coffee trick, so the flavor was quite nice. We tried to save it by eating it with vanilla ice cream, but still too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
I made this recipe exactly as written except in a 9x13x2 glass pan. Oh wow! It is just the right amount of chocolatey goodness. It was moist and not too dense. This will be made again many times I'm sure! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Very good recipe. Made one batch of cupcakes. Tasted them then made another half batch. I make wedding cakes for friends and family. I will use this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
I made this for my son's birthday the first time and now he wants it this year too. It is a wonderful tasting and moist cake. It is important to really take the time to cream the butter and sugar until it becomes fluffy and almost white in color. This will be the basis for the texture of the cake. It is also important to let the cocoa and boiling water mixture cool to room temperature before mixing up your cake. Try it. It is a super tasty and great textured cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NEWSAHMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I made this recipe for a friend of mine at work that has a dairy, corn and soy allergy. I replaced the butter with Spectrum Organic Shortening (Made with organic palm oil). It came out AMAZING. Other than the butter substitute, I made it exactly as written. Cake was moist and not dense at all. Perfect for cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
The only chocolate cake I will make from scratch from now on.. I cream the butter and sugar together for a good 5 minutes.. The flavanols in cocoa are soo good for you, but MILK blocks their absorption so I was tickled that this recipe uses water. I have made this several times for large family birthday parties..I tripled the recipe to fit in a 12 x 18 x 2 inch.. Worked wonderfully
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 1,273) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States