Dark Chocolate Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
This was an easy delicious recipe! It makes a lot of batter, I made 32 cupcakes, baking for about 20 minutes:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I love this recipe. I bake a LOT including wedding cakes and this recipe is my go to since the first time I tried it years ago! It really lets the chocolate shine in a not overly sweet way and you can customize with frosting and fillings without it being overkill. I usually cut down on a cup of sugar to count the frosting. If the cake should stand on it's own (which it can!)- leave both cups. I switch out applesauce for butter when I want to save some calories. Works well too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
This was FANTASTIC! I ended up halving it and making a different layer from a different layer. It worked out great but I really recommend watching the cooking video.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by iamcalm
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
This cake is incredibly moist and delicious! The only thing that took more time than I expected was cooling the chocolate mixture. I would recommend making the chocolate mixture in advanced for this reason! Otherwise this cake is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iamcalm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
Slightly dry although very chocolatey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
Used coffee instead of water but either way this cake always comes out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krysta

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
Made this for my Dad's birthday. Should have tried it out first... I have to join in with the many folks who say it was too dry (it WAS) and too hard to get out of the pans. I did use the coffee trick, so the flavor was quite nice. We tried to save it by eating it with vanilla ice cream, but still too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
I made this recipe exactly as written except in a 9x13x2 glass pan. Oh wow! It is just the right amount of chocolatey goodness. It was moist and not too dense. This will be made again many times I'm sure! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Very good recipe. Made one batch of cupcakes. Tasted them then made another half batch. I make wedding cakes for friends and family. I will use this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
I made this for my son's birthday the first time and now he wants it this year too. It is a wonderful tasting and moist cake. It is important to really take the time to cream the butter and sugar until it becomes fluffy and almost white in color. This will be the basis for the texture of the cake. It is also important to let the cocoa and boiling water mixture cool to room temperature before mixing up your cake. Try it. It is a super tasty and great textured cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NEWSAHMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States