Dark Chocolate Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
I doubled the recipe to make a 12x17" sheet cake for my daughter's baby shower and it was wonderful. As others suggested, I did add a packet of instant coffee and used half regular cocoa and half dark cocoa. I saw the reviews that said it stuck to the bottom of the pan so I used cake release (look in the cake decorating section or a hobby store) and had no problems or the funny crusting that you get sometimes with the grease and flour sprays. I also stored it in the freezer for a couple of days to maintain/increase moisture. My learning experience during this was that a cake that size needs a piece of plywood under the cake board. I covered it with a pretty piece of fabric and it made the final product even prettier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
I have tried many chocolate cake recipes and this one is definately the best. The texture is perfect if the directions are followed properly. I've tried whipping the egg whites but it doesn't seem to make a difference. I do use dutch process cocoa and strong coffee in place of the water. It gives the cake a deeper, more rich chocolate flavor. It actually gets better the day after you bake it (if it lasts that long!) The flavor really gets more intense after sitting overnight under some frosting. About the cake getting a dome in the middle, bake at 325, don't overfill the pan, and I use bake even strips for anything bigger than an 8" pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
Made it with coffee in place of water. It was very good and very rich. Next time I will serve it with just some whipped cream or a sprinkle of powdered sugar instead of icing. I made this in a non stick bundt pan, sprayed with pam and dusted with cocoa powder and some still stuck. next time I will use butter or Crisco instead of the spray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
I typically hate cake in all forms, flavors, with any fillings, toppings or icings. I do not like cake flavor or cake texture. This cake was made on a whim since I wanted something chocolatey and the husband wanted cupcakes I decided I would try to find something that worked for both of us. I intended to make a ganache to go with it but as I didn't have all the ingredients necessary, I ended up sprinkling my cupcakes with a dusting of powdered sugar. They probably didn't even need that. The reviews do not do these justice. Honestly, they were amazing. I want another one but I am on a diet so one a day! I can barely wait until my one tomorrow though lol. Honestly, these were perfectly most and full of chocolatey flavor. The recipe was 100X better than any boxed cake mix and not hard to accomplish albeit a bit time consuming for a person making their first from-scratch cake. I made sure to beat the sugar and butter for at least 2 minutes as others had suggested to insure these came out moist and they did. Seriously, a moist cupcake is what I got out of this. It was dense and airy at the same time if that is even possible. I would follow the recipe to a T but I am so happy to find something that works for us that I will probably add things to it now for future baking trials! Can barely wait to flavor it with coffee as others have suggested!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gildawen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
This recipe is great! I cut back on the sugar by using just under 2 cups. I have also made 1/2 the recipe and bake 48 mini cupcakes! I use fun paper liners, bake for 12 minutes at 350 degrees F (175 degrees C) in a conventional oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Acton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
So disappointed! I'm looking for a dark chocolate cake to use for my wedding cake so I spent the extra on cake flour and top shelf ingredients. This turned out very dry with very little chocolate flavor. I live at almost 7,000 feet but don't know that it would have anything to do with it. Wish I knew what went wrong, it looked so promising!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
This is my o to chocolate cake recipe. I make cakes as a side business and hobby for birthdays, graduations, etc,,and this cake always comes out moist, but durable. The taste is fantastic. As another user said, the cake is much better if you substitute the water for other liquids. I always use 1 cup of hot coffee in place of the two cups of boiling water, and mix the cocoa in with that, and then use 1 cup of buttermilk added in to the rest of the ingredients. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
Huge hit! Home run with this one. Cake was firm and dense without being hard or dry. Full flavor. I used half regular coco and half dark chocolate coco. Making my second one right now! Making cupcakes with this one. I used a whipped cream topping on the first cake a make and it was a perfect match for the flavors in the cake. Thank you a million times for posting this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
My 1st time ever make a cake from scratch & Betty Crocker ain't got nothing on me! This was a delicious cake. After reading the reviews I chose to go with strong coffee over water. It worked phenomenally well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
Very good recipe, the cake is very moist and delicious with or without icing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,257) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States