Dark Chocolate Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I doubled the recipe and topped it with a cooked icing and whipped cream in the middle. It was a real success! Kathy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Moist and delicious! We frosted it with Real Strawberry Frosting by Candice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Grinnell, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Excellent, moist and delicious. Separated the eggs, whipped up the whites and folded them in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by toni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ladysmith, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
This cake is amazing! I am 11 and I only need help with pouring the hot water. So easy. This is the chocolate cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
Amazing chocolate cake recipe! First time I made this cake, I followed the recipe exactly and it was great! The second time I did 1 cup of boiling water and 1 cup of strong fresh brewed coffee to bring out more of the chocolate flavor! Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nueve35
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
This was the very first chocolate cake I have ever baked, and it was fantastic. I baked it for my father's birthday party, and everyone was beyond impressed! It was deeply dark, soft, fluffy, and so delicious that my mom, who usually cannot stand anything with chocolaty flavour, raved about it after finishing a whole piece! I only made a couple of small adjustments to suit my pantry at the time: 1) I had dutch-processed cocoa powder, so I added 2 tablespoons of sugar to the recipe, and 2) as I only owned two 9-inch pans, I divided the batter into two cakes and baked them for 50-55 minutes at 340 degrees F. Once they were cooled, they were topped with some store-bought vanilla frosting, then one was decorated with raspberries along the edge, the other with almond slices. The toppings didn't really matter in terms of the flavour as the cakes themselves tasted far superior than any other cakes that I have ever had, but they sure helped with the looks! Everyone ooh-ed and ah-ed when the cakes entered the dining room.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
The cake turned out just excellent. Made it in a 9x11 inch pan and cut it in half once cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
Easy and delicious, make a day before as the flavor is much better after it sat in the fridge overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
it was very good but a little dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Tehran, Tehran, Iran

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
I made this cake for a friend's birthday and it was wonderful! Everyone loved it! I made one sort of accidental substitution, I used butter flavored Crisco +2 tbls of water instead of butter, I'd been reading through a bunch of recipes and couldn't remember what was needed when I went shopping. The cake was moist and delicious, with a rich, but not too sweet, chocolatey flavor. I frosted it with Rich Chocolate Frosting from this site and with my own buttercream recipe, I also filled it with a blackberry filling to cut the chocolate upon chocolate. It was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,261) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States