Dark Chocolate Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2015
My family love's this cake if you mix the Hershey's coca and the nestle toll house cocoa. It changes the flavor makes it taste so much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2015
I've never baked a cake before, but this one was both easy to make and rather tasty. Thanks a bunch for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2015
This is seriously the best chocolate cake ever. It is dense, but moist, and very chocolaty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2015
I was looking for a simple chocolate cake not to sweet moist and easy to bake. This was it! I loved it even my mother in law who is very critical about cakes thought it was good. Coming from her you better believe this an honest real review. No sugar coding! LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Garcia Dayan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2015
I made this cake for my mom's birthday, and it turned out great! I always hate using boxed mixes, and so I had been searching for a really good chocolate cake to make. I've tried some that were good, but just weren't chocolate-y enough. This recipe fits that requirement! This was easy to make, the texture was wonderful without being too dry, and tasted so good. I will definitely make this one again soon! (now if I could just learn how to decorate cakes, but that's a whole other issue)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2015
This recipe is wonderful and elegant. I don't mean hold-the-teacup-with-your-pinky-out elegant, I mean that it is a simple, well-designed recipe which gives the intended result without unnecessary complications. Most wonderfully, this recipe is forgiving. I followed it as accurately as I could, but I was baking in a shared kitchen in a university dormitory. I had to cut it by 1/3 because we only have two pans. We don't have tea spoons or table spoons. We just have spoons. Our measuring cups are nearly worthless. Our oven is unreliable. I still got a beautiful, moist, flavorful, velvety dark chocolate cake. It rose a little more in the middle than I wanted, but I think that's because I couldn't measure the baking powder or baking soda. For the middle I made and used a quick rhubarb-cinnamon compote. The sour tang really paired well with the lush chocolate of this cake. Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
this was amazing. It was also the only recipe I could find that didn't call for milk, which is why I made it in the first place. But from now on I won't be baking any other recipe. it tastes GREAT with cream cheese frosting, also homemade ofc, but definitely try that! thank you thank you thank you for making it possible to surprise my husband with an early valentine's day cake without keeping milk in the fridge lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Skalnick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
At our home, this cake is called "The Birthday Cake". Everyone wants it for their birthday. It is easy to make and super delish! Make sure to bake it for 20 minutes and then check every three minutes. It does dry out. Also, as stated before, be sure to use parchment paper in the bottom of your greased and floured pans! Very important!! I use "Chocolate Frosting I" for the frosting and it is great! The consistancy and quantity is sometimes tricky, though. Quantity is just a little short. Thank you, Carol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by merhall
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
I am teaching my self how to make bake from scratch. I absolutely live this recipe. It was easy to make and it came out fantastic. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Brilliant recipe! I too used coffee (very strong) in place of water, turned out gorgeous. If you learn anything in cookery school, it is that SIMPLE can be the BEST at times, and this recipe warrants both titles! Absolutely perfect. Thanks for recipe addition to my ever growing collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,279) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States