Cut-Out Cookies in a Flower Pot Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by jennygevans
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
These cookies are great!! They are a perfect combination of soft and hard!! My family loves them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennygevans
Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
I normally don't gush over recipes, but this idea is one that is deserving. When I saw this recipe, I knew that this is what I was going to make for my kids' end of the year gifts. I made the dough the night before to chill and removed it from the fridge about 30 minutes before using. I did cut the recipe in half and it yielded the perfect amount of cookies. Even when I am not making cookies to put into pots, I will use this dough as my sugar cookie recipe. The dough was delicious and rolled perfectly. I am not a professional decorator, and my cookies didn't look as great as some of the photos posted, but they still looked cute enough - my kids felt proud to present it to their teachers and the teachers loved them. I will make this again for gifts and hopefully my cookie decorating will only improve with time. Thank you for such a wonderful idea as well as a great tasting cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
This is a soft dough but firms up when chilled. I made a half batch and got about 5 dozen medium-sized cut-outs. I used 1-1/2 tsp. each of vanilla and almond extract and my cookies are really tasty but next time I will increase that to 2 tsps. each for extra flavor. Overall, a great dough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie Diva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canoga Park, California, USA
Living In: Encino, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
i would say the recipe was just about perfect, but i like to put my own tweeks....nice crunchy cookie, not overly sweet with icing and decor and great buttery flavour of course....i added a tbsp of brandy, baking powder from another recipe and a hint of lemon juice....happy baking!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christinasvg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Curly Sue
Reviewed: May 25, 2010
Such a great idea for a present!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Curly Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2010
I had the same problem and a few others.... my dough was sticky so i ended up NOT using cutouts and making plain cookies. But the taste it good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
This recipe is very good I will continue to use this recipe floavor is good and i had to make twice first time my butter wasnt soft enough and the dough didnt have best appearence but the taste was still good so I tried again and taste and look was perfect Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RenCohee
Reviewed: May 12, 2010
I was a bit nervous about trying this new cookie recipe, but was amazed by the results, my 7 yr old daughter helped me make them, and we had a blast. They tasted perfectly, the only thing I didn't add was the butter flavor, but didn't need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RenCohee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
Worked well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Luthman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by love2cook
Reviewed: May 9, 2010
My kids and I made these for mother's day gifts. My kids painted clay pots and decorated them with beads. For the cookies, we made 3 different sizes of flowers, and used cookie sticks. We decorated the cookies using Wilton's buttercream icing, outlining with royal icing. The only change I made to the recipe was to use almond extract. This project was so much fun and turned out beautifully! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Neosho, Missouri, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States