Cut-Out Cookies in a Flower Pot Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
These are wonderful! I made them twice. The first time I used almond extract instead of butter extract because I had a hard time finding it at first. The second time I used butter extract and they turned out so much better. These are the only sugar cookies I will make in teh future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monona, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
I love this recipe but the only reason I'm giving it 4 stars instead of 5 is because the recipe listed above is huge and on the first batch I tried to make it stripped the gears from the beaters on my mixer. I'm an experienced baker and have made big batches of cookies every christams but this killed my mixer. My advice is to half this recipe. I also doubled the vanill and skipped the butter flavoring. My original intent was to find a good sugar cookie that would hold up to kids decorating them. I'm making about 500 cookies, some big, some normal size for a holiday party. So far these have been excellent and my family loves them! we'll see how they stand up to 300 kids (mostly boys) come this Saturday!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out great! The flavor of the cookies is excellent. I did over bake the first batch because I am used to cut-out cookies being slightly golden brown on the edges when they are done. I waited for the edges to turn golden on these and they were hard! So I took the next batch out after 10 minutes and they were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
I love how these actually keep their shape and don't swell too much when baked. Awesome recipe, a definite go-to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NikkysNiche

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Thank you Laura for giving me the sugar cookie cut out recipe I have been searching for! After leaving the dough in the fridge overnight, it was hard. Left it out a while and worked with it and it was just fine. These are not to sweet and don't have that flour taste so many cookies do. Used another reviewer's suggestion and used JBS BOX's recipe on here for sugar cookie icing. I have Halloween cookies that are bakery quality and everyone who tasted them said the same thing. If you want a crisper cookie, cut them thinner. Once they start browning around the edges, they are done. BUT, even my overbaked ones tasted good. I used parchment paper to bake them on. Didn't change the recipe at all. I can't wait to make Christmas cookies in all different shapes this year with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Lynne

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
I used this as a great base for a Spiced Sugar Cookie. I didn't use the butter extract either - I've never even heard of it, though it sounds yummy! I used 2 more tsp of Vanilla and 1 of Rum extract instead. Then I added 1 tsp of cinnamon, 1 tsp of nutmeg and 3/4 tsp of Allspice for my "spice". Contrary to other reviews I found that it needed all 7 cups of flour and rolled out quite nicely for cut outs. A very tasty dough before and after baking! I baked mine for 10 min at 335 since I was using a dark metal non-stick pan. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
Excellent tasting cookie. I too made them with only vanilla, because I didn't have butter flavoring. I probably will continue to do this for future batches. I used thick bamboo skewers I purchased at the grocery store and made 4" cookies. The sticks held up fine, and it is far easier than asking my husband to cut dowels. :) (I did not soak the bamboo, just took them straight out of the package). I had a problem with the dough sticking to my marble surface. I rolled out small batches in between deli wrap sheets, and it was perfect! I had to bake them longer, and found that the cookies were a little too brittle after decorating, if I did not cook longer. Also, I preferred those baked on my Pamp Chef stone vs those cooked on metal. They were more evenly cooked and not as doughy in the middle, which affects the cookie's integrity. I'm still looking for a good frosting recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RCPMFAN60103

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bartlett, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
This is by far the best cut-out cookie recipe I have tried. I have made many gift bouquets with it and it turns out perfect each time. I use the sugar cookie icing recipe from this site with a paint brush to apply and they turn out beautifully. One trick I have found so they don't turn out hard is bake them on parchment paper (watch them closely) and they are done when they just start to turn brown around the bottom edge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
I have tried many cut out recipes but this is by far the best.The dough is very easy to work with and it does not break. I made cookie favors for a baby shower and everyone loved them!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
Really yummy! Slightly crunchy but soft in the middle, very yummy flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashleyp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Escondido, California, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Chocolate Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Bake delicious oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips and cranberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States