Cut-Out Cookies in a Flower Pot Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
Excellent recipe!! As other have said the flavor is great even without the butter flavoring (although I imagine that would only add to the yumminess). I made these in 2 batches of 24, only because I miscalculated the number of guests I was expecting. Only after making the first batch did I realize I needed 24 more. For the second batch I literally eyeballed the measurements, threw all the ingredients into the bowl, mixed with a spoon, and only kept in the fridge for 30 min before rolling (while for the first batch I measured everything exactly, used an electric hand mixer, and kept the dough chilled for 4 hours). There is no difference between the two batches—both came out perfect. This recipe is very forgiving so if you’re short on time these are for you. The only thing I did differently was add a little extra salt as I think salt brings out the flavor in sugar and butter cookies. I decorated with lemon flavored royal icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
The best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cupcake Princess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Excellent cut out cookie. Very sturdy and extremely minimal spreading. I followed the recipe with the exception of only needing 6 cups of flour. Half of the cookies I put sticks in, the other half I just baked. I used bamboo skewers. I cut them in half with a new, clean pair of rose pruners and sanded the cut edges with a new, clean sanding sponge to eliminate any rough edges. I rolled my dough to 1/4" thick and got exactly fifty 3" cookies. I iced them with Sugar Cookie Icing from this site. It's the perfect taste combination and the icing dries shiny and "hard" to the touch, while remaining "soft" when you bite into it. This flavor of this recipe could easily be altered by adding 1-2 tsp. of different flavorings such as almond, lemon, etc. To make rolling easier, I put a tea towel (flour sack towel) on my counter and sprinkle with flour. Then I roll my dough out on this. It completely eliminates the dough sticking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
This cookie dough is awesome. I was able to take the ball of dough out of the fridge and bake a few cookies at a time. I hate baking a batch of cookies and having it go stale after a couple days. I wrapped my dough in wax paper and then with plastic wrap. It stayed good for two weeks! My two year old son really enjoyed decorating these durable cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELBE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
My only gripe with this recipe is that I thought it was WAY too sweet. We used buttercream icing to decorate these cookies cut into heart and butterfly shapes and baked onto popsicle sticks for my girls' bday party. I used the tip someone else gave and cut two cookies per stick, sandwiching the stick between the two cookies. These baked about 15 minutes and were around 1/2" thick and made about 24 cookies. If you are using the sweet frosting, I suggest cutting way back on the sugar. Otherwise, it tasted good despite the hardness of the cookie which made us nervous (we thought they'd be dry). Will do again with less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nancy Carreiro
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
very good and buttery. Perfect cut out cookie! Thnx for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Carreiro
Home Town: Laval, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I made these Cookies yesterday and let them sit in the fridge overnight. I followed the directions to a T, yet they were extremely sticky when cutting out ( I had to continually re-flour everything) , and swelled while cooking. Since no-one one else really seemed to have an issue, I am assuming it was just me or maybe the climate I live in. Anyone who has advice feel free to respond or contact me. Though Cookies in general were very tasty though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
By far the BEST sugar cookie recipe I have used. I use LorAnn oils to give the cookies different flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya Rosario

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, California, USA
Living In: Vero Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
The cookies held their shape well, though I must admit I found them rather bland. Easy to ice, and eaten quickly though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
This is an excellent cut out recipe. I was able to find butter flavored extract at my local grocery store and I could definitely taste the extra flavor; it was a great add-in. The only problem I had was with the flour. I used all 7 cups because the dough seemed to loose while mixing, then when I took it out of the refrigerator the next morning it was rock solid. I had to work with it to soften it back up and my cookies were a little tougher than I had hoped. Next time I will reduce by 2 cups as others have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Wolfe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brimfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Chocolate Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Bake delicious oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips and cranberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States