Curried Coconut Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
I have tried this recipe many times since I first started to cook (five years ago). It has almost always tasted delicious (unless I used not-so-good quality coconut milk), yet was easy to make. More recently I've experimented with this by substituting fish and eggplant instead of chicken (I added the eggplant in after the onions browned, pan seared the fish separately and added it in the end when the curry thickened). The key to making this curry yummy-as-possible is to let it simmer as long as it needs to for it to thicken. 30-40 minutes didn't cut it for me (it would still be pretty watery. For me it took about 1.5-2 hours for it to reach a nice thick consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
So tasty! We will be adding this to our menu. I didn't have curry powder on hand so I used red curry paste, we really enjoyed the flavor. I would add maybe more garlic and red pepper flakes for spice. We like it hot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Yummy! The house smelled like a curry restaurant for about 3 days afterward, but who cares? I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
WONDERFUL... So yummy and easy to make. The only thing I did different is that after simmering for 1/2 hr I simmered with lid off and I thickend up. Made it YUMMIER...We will do again. Kids LOVED it....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISRTR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
It was OK, but seemed to be lacking a depth of flavor. It was just hot from the curry, but not "interesting". I even cooked the curry longer in the oil before adding other ingredients as recommended by other reviewers. Bummed, as I was looking for a yummy "welcome home" dish for my daughter who loves this type of dish. Will keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
Used 1/2 the tomato sauce, 1/2 the curry, coconut oil instead of veg oil, and fresh tomatoes instead of canned. 24 hours later and my house still smells like curry...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
I will make this again simply for it's ease and convenience. This did not taste like a typical, say, Thai cuisine at all. I think that you should either lay off the tomato sauce or perhaps add more coconut milk to tame the acidity. I will try to add more milk next time to see if it goes better. My husband and oldest child like it enough for seconds but it wasn't amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
This recipe is sensational! I followed the directions with the exception being I used cooked chicken that was cubed and was pleasantly rewarded with a dish that tantalizes the eyes, nose, and palate! I served this over saffron rice and topped it with slivers of Serrano chilies and Jicama (texture thing).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DADOF7

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
I used coconut oil instead of vegetable oil. This created more sauce than normal which was really nice for dipping naan. Whole family loved it and it was a nice change from the spicy curry we usually have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen
Home Town: Meadville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
I was so sure I was gong to like this - it had great reviews! Followed the recipe to they"T" too ... Had to thicken it (too runny) and it just tasted like tomato soup with chicken. The chicken could have cooked in the 30-40 minute simmer - which would have saved a lot of time too. I love curry too but I don't recommend this one ;(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jake's Mom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,797) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Curried Coconut Chicken

See how to make quick-and-easy curried chicken.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Panang Curry with Chicken

See how to make authentic southern Thai-style chicken curry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States