Curried Coconut Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 1, 2015
LOVE this recipe. Make it often. I agree with Cook Stephanie about cooking the "broth" before adding the chicken. I always cook the curry powder or paste, depends on what I have but high quality is very important, with the oil and I also add oil as I go, even before I add the onion and garlic if I need to. I cook the paste with the oil for at least 5 minutes then add the onion, (1/2 onion roughly chopped), and garlic, (I use 4 cloves), and cook for another 10 minutes or so...adding oil if necessary. I use chicken thighs instead of breast, the flavor is better and there is more fat in the meat. I add chicken and cook over medium heat until the chicken is just done. I also agree with Cook Stephanie that fresh tomato is better but organic diced canned works too. I add the tomatoes, coconut milk, sugar and let it cook. I usually add 2 tablespoons of tomato paste and let it simmer to the right consistency, then correct the seasoning. Sometimes I chop a bell pepper and throw it in the sauce for the last 20 minutes. Great with any rice and veggie combination. This is a go to recipe in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2015
My husband loves this one! Id reduce the sugar to 2tbs and add one teaspoon of hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz Gicharu

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
Very easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
This recipe depends greatly on the curry you use. I get my curry from Maine... the company name is Gryffon Ridge. I like their Ivory Coast curry blend. The Jamaica or Sri Lankan are good blends as well, Sri Lankan being the mildest. I have a friend who makes this and does not heat the curry and oil... not a good flavor. This step activiates the curry, so to speak; just don't breathe in the fumes!!!!!!! Anyway, I follow the directions to the letter except that I simmer it for about 1.5 hours. I really like this dish. The flavor (if you use a good curry) is excellent. I serve this with Basmati Rice, as the flavors marry very well. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
Made this tonight, and it's fantabulous. Yes, I made a few changes as I didn't have any canned tomatoes or tomato sauce so I chopped up 6 fresh tomatoes. Also added a little extra salt, some dried crushed red pepper flakes, and for color I added about 1/4 package of frozen 3-pepper and onion blend. Will definitely make this again and again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChihuahuaMama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Beau McDowell
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
Just made this recipe. Loved it. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
I love this recipe! The only reason I did not give it 5 stars is because the stewed tomatoes tasted bitter. However, I spooned them out and it was amazing. I will be making this again. I served it over basmati rice and sprinkled just a little bit of sweetened shredded coconut flakes on top. And my family went wild!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
Followed the recipe to the T... I did have to simmer the broth a lot longer than 45 minutes though. This was a huge hit with my family, even the kids. I served it with basmati rice and some squash and carrots on the side. This will be in my normal rotation for dinners!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Desiree Brown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
I made this last night for my husband and he absolutely loved it! I followed the recipe to a T and it turned out good. Put it on rice with some Naan bread. Will make again. Easy also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
Great flavor! Sauce was rather thin, but I let it boil instead of simmer. Next time I'll turn the heat down on the burner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Shelton, Washington, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,933) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Curried Coconut Chicken

See how to make quick-and-easy curried chicken.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States