Curried Coconut Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
Too tomatoey. Would be better without the tomatoes in all or just cut out the tomato sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
I love this! It hits the craving for something different on the spot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sammy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
I made this as stated, but used half a 14 oz can of crushed tomatoes in place of both the stewed tomatos/tomato sauce. Was slightly worried because it did taste simply like tomato sauce near the end. Added an extra tablespoon of curry powder, 1 tablespoon each Turmeric, and Cinnamon. Worked well. Simmered down thick within an hour and awesome flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by britt2187

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
This "Curried Coconut Chicken" is the perfect "comfort meal." I couldn't stop eating it! I watched the Allrecipes "What's Cooking" video of ROMA (the recipe submitter) preparing the recipe and learned a few important tidbits that do not appear in the written recipe: (i) it is a "fusion" curry (multicultural); (ii) ROMA makes hers using a West Indian curry power (from Trinidad and Tobago); (iii) she would use dried hot peppers to give it some heat if desired (optional); and (iv) she uses sugar to bring out the sweetness of the coconut milk. The next time I make this recipe I will leave out the sweetener because I use a naturally sweet coconut milk. Thank you ROMA for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ladybug
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
This was delicious! The sauce is the perfect balance of sweet and savory. The only ingredient change I made was to omit the stewed tomatoes, but that was just a matter of textural preference. Otherwise, I prepared the recipe as is, and served it over steamed white rice. I followed another chef's advice and simmered it all uncovered for 30 minutes versus covered, and the result was tender chicken and onions in a perfectly thickened sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
this recipe was ok just ok it turned out really sweet I don't know if the sugar was too much or was the stewed tomatoes. I only read one review about letting the spice heat up in the oil first before adding the onion I did that but that's about it. I have a lot of leftovers I'm going to go ahead and add some more spices after reading more reviews and try to see if I can save what is left over I do not want to throw away good check. this was just very bland and all I can taste with sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rocco Lily

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
So delicious and easy to make. As recommended by a previous reviewer, I allowed the dish to simmer uncovered for 50 mins. The sauce turned out thick and creamy. I followed the recipe but added the following aromatics (as recommended by one of my favorite food bloggers): ginger, jalapeno (if you like it spicy), cilantro, and turmeric. This will definitely be on regular rotation in my home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
Awesome Recipe!! Made this exactly as written, otherwise I wouldn't be reviewing this recipe, would I? Simple to throw together and the flavors are awesome. I was concerned that it would either be too sweet or there wouldn't be enough curry flavor, no need. There was just a hint of coconut and for the average person, the curry flavor is just right. I am a huge curry fan, so I will most likely try increasing the curry powder a bit and see what happens. If you're looking for something with lots of flavor and easy to make, this is the dish for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paramus, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Brogue, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
Loved this recipe....though I did make a few teaks and plan to make more the next time I make it. I doubled everything in the recipe except the chicken so we would have extra sauce. The sauce is a bit on the sweet side, so next time I will reduce the sugar. And I tend to prefer spicy, so next time I will use spicy curry to add some kick. I cut some potatoes to add the broth and I added some sliced water chestnuts for texture. Yum!!,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhonda Thomason

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
Absolutely delicious! I deboned 4 thighs and cooked the meat chunks a bit longer Resized the recipe to 4 servings but used entire can of diced tomatoes, can of coconut minus 1/3 c. that was used in another recipe and a similar reduction in tomato sauce (also used in another recipe).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,885) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Curried Coconut Chicken

See how to make quick-and-easy curried chicken.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Panang Curry with Chicken

See how to make authentic southern Thai-style chicken curry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States