Curried Coconut Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
Very easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
This recipe depends greatly on the curry you use. I get my curry from Maine... the company name is Gryffon Ridge. I like their Ivory Coast curry blend. The Jamaica or Sri Lankan are good blends as well, Sri Lankan being the mildest. I have a friend who makes this and does not heat the curry and oil... not a good flavor. This step activiates the curry, so to speak; just don't breathe in the fumes!!!!!!! Anyway, I follow the directions to the letter except that I simmer it for about 1.5 hours. I really like this dish. The flavor (if you use a good curry) is excellent. I serve this with Basmati Rice, as the flavors marry very well. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
Made this tonight, and it's fantabulous. Yes, I made a few changes as I didn't have any canned tomatoes or tomato sauce so I chopped up 6 fresh tomatoes. Also added a little extra salt, some dried crushed red pepper flakes, and for color I added about 1/4 package of frozen 3-pepper and onion blend. Will definitely make this again and again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChihuahuaMama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Beau McDowell
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
Just made this recipe. Loved it. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
I love this recipe! The only reason I did not give it 5 stars is because the stewed tomatoes tasted bitter. However, I spooned them out and it was amazing. I will be making this again. I served it over basmati rice and sprinkled just a little bit of sweetened shredded coconut flakes on top. And my family went wild!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
Followed the recipe to the T... I did have to simmer the broth a lot longer than 45 minutes though. This was a huge hit with my family, even the kids. I served it with basmati rice and some squash and carrots on the side. This will be in my normal rotation for dinners!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Desiree Brown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
I made this last night for my husband and he absolutely loved it! I followed the recipe to a T and it turned out good. Put it on rice with some Naan bread. Will make again. Easy also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
Great flavor! Sauce was rather thin, but I let it boil instead of simmer. Next time I'll turn the heat down on the burner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Shelton, Washington, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
Super easy to make! Tasted so amazing. We added onion and celery to the recipe to hive some texture. The leftovers were even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
The good news is that it tastes good. However, the finished product just simply tastes like salted and peppered chicken drowning in thin tomato soup with the occasional piece of tomato. Recipe is way too thin, sauce is not creamy enough. The sauce steals away the curry taste, yet provides no sweetness or coconut flavor of its own. It wasn't worth the prep, but it was good enough to eat. Also, it's probably perfect for someone who just wants a slight hint of Indian flavoring. Surprised there's no rice mentioned, nor is there naan bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrrobvs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,920) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Curried Coconut Chicken

See how to make quick-and-easy curried chicken.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States