Curried Coconut Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
This recipe is awesome! The only recommendation I would make (my mother was raised in India, so she taught me): the difference between a good curry & a great curry is what my aunt called the broth. The broth is what is made with the spices & the onion. The curry powder (paste is even better) should be cooked in the oil until it is ready - usually about 5 minutes. Then add the onion & spice - cook until the onion is translucent. This will take about 10 minutes, but it makes all the difference in the world. Add more oil as the onion is cooking, if necessary. Then add the tomato (fresh is even better - strained) and cook it for a little while. NOW you're ready to make the curry. This recipe was a HUGE hit with my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1974 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cook Stephanie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef Joy
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
HELPFUL TIPS AFTER READING ALL THE REVIEWS: UPDATED If you've never had an Indian type cuisine, this is a GREAT one to start with because you can't screw it up! The hardest part is just finding these items at the store if it's your 1st time. Know you have to buy sweetened coconut milk, not the unsweetened kind & "lite coconut milk" for those weight watchers works well too! When I add the stewed tomatoes, I use my spatula and cut them into smaller pieces. Who wants a big chunk & who wants to end up w/nothing? I find cooking it uncovered is your best bet unless you want it simmering FOREVER. Uncovered at a steady med. will still takes 50-60 before the sauce thickens. Any rice goes well with this, so just choose the kind you like. I also only use 2 chicken breasts (1 pound), but keep all the other amounts since this is just for a family of 3. If I used 2lbs, I'd definitely have to use more sauce if cooking uncovered. Note: Expect your house to smell like curry 24hrs after you fix this (in case some of you have company coming over the next day). We have this regularly, so I know!!! ;) This is truly the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
535 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
I didn't listen to the reviews when I decided to make this recipe with all the liquids listed in the ingredients. And I'm glad I did! It thickened up VERY well - but I did let it sit on the stove and simmer for a while (maybe an hour?). I just couldn't justify tossing out the water from the tomatoes, thinking I'd lose all those vitamins... I also only used 1 tsp of oil, light coconut milk, and extra curry. This was GREAT! It totally hit the spot! It's a great healthy recipe if you have veggies on the side (the coconut milk I used only had 6 grams fat per 1/2 cup!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
263 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2007
My husband said this recipe was restaurant quality...I used 1 TBS. of garlic, partially drained the tomatoes, added 2 cubed red potatoes and sprinkled in some red pepper flakes to make it more spicy. I'll make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
Amazing!!!! When I saw how much curry powder I was putting in I have to admit I was a lil worried but the 1st time I make someone else's recipe I follow it to the T before making any changes. This is awesome just the way it is written!! Great flavor!!! My husband loved it and my mom asked for the recipe! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
Excellent every time I make it, at least once a month! Sometimes I use tomato paste if I don't have sauce and I often make it in the crockpot which combines all the flavors just perfectly! Serve with orange slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jocelyn Mahoney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Bear Township, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2006
Usually I reduce the salt in recipes, but this dish needs most of the salt called for, and the pepper too. As written, you'll end up with a fairly runny sauce after simmering for 30-40 minutes. However, I simmer this much longer, uncovered and stirring frequently until it is thick and the tomatoes break down and blend into the sauce. (At least an hour depending on how much you let it bubble.) You could instead use less tomatoes, but I really like the recipe the way it's written, just simmered MUCH longer. Goes great with a Thai cucumber salad, zucchini, carrots, and/or cauliflower. I disagree with the other reviewer - unsweetened coconut milk is the way to go. EVERYONE loves this recipe - even those who've never tried curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Old Tappan, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2007
Loved it! After 2 hours of simmering, it was still runny, so just before serving, I mixed one tablespoon of cornstarch with about 2T. cold water, then added it to the sauce and boiled for one minute. It was just right. I also added cashews and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA
Living In: Eagle Mountain, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2006
This is my second comment on this recipe - still love it, it has become a staple dinner for us. I made it yesterday and did two things differently: (1) I used diced pork instead of chicken, and (2) I added frozen peas. I LOVED how the pork changed the flavor, and the peas were excellent. Enjoy! --------------------- Original Comment: WOW! This recipe was fabulous! I loved the tomatoes in it -- I used whole stewed tomatoes vs diced. It was a little on the sweet side, so next time I'll probably 1/2 the sugar, but otherwise this dish was perfect! My kids, 8 & 11, wanted seconds, and with my 8yr old, that's saying a lot!! Good job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
Adding jalepenos and using low fat coconut milk made this recipe much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mahtomedi, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,799) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Curried Coconut Chicken

See how to make quick-and-easy curried chicken.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Panang Curry with Chicken

See how to make authentic southern Thai-style chicken curry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States