Curried Coconut Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by Reecy1009
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
I love this recipe!! My husband and daughter are from West Africa and I am constantly trying to find recipes that will satisfy their taste as well as my own. This recipe is one of the most delicious meals that I have ever made. I added 1 additional tablespoon of curry powder for extra flavor. I am definitely adding this to my menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reecy1009

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
This is delicious! Thank you ROMA for the recipe I've been wanting for years after having in a Thai restaurant! My boyfriend and I made this together, using chicken thighs instead of breasts because we really wanted the meat to remain moist. We used a mixture of curries, including Penzy's sweet curry (yum), red curry paste, and a curry powder that I got at an Indian store. We added two minced serrano's for added heat. Chaokoh coconut milk was the PERFECT product for this-nice and thick and I highly recommend it. We drained the tomatoes, added a pinch of lemongrass, only 2 tablespoons of sugar, and simmered uncovered for less than thirty minutes and it was perfectly thick, lucious, and creamy. Even though we used all the tomato products (minus the drained liquid), this did not have a strong tomato flavor or even a red color. It was a golden orange- probably because most of our curry was the yellow variety. Served with Indian jeera rice (which includes cumin seed) and a cold chick pea and cucumber salad. You deserve all five stars for sure! Can't wait to eat the leftovers and make again! Now- to everyone who had disappointing results I just want to say how important it is to use high quality ingredients- especially the curry mixture and coconut milk. The spice is such a dominant flavor in the dish that a substandard mixture could very well ruin it. It's hard to end with a quality dish if you don't start with quality ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
Absolutely delicious! My boys love it and request this dish as often as I am willing to make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cheathamama
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
This dish was very delicious! The only thing I did differently was use fresh tomatoes and curry paste. My guys loved it including my very picky 5 year old. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheathamama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Van Buren, Indiana, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
This recipe was awesome! Followed the recipe almost exactly, and I was surprised how good it was. Rarely use coconut milk, so I don't know if that was the secret ingredient, but this will certainly be a recipe I will make again in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
this is not what a curry should taste like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
This is a winter favorite at our house. The seasoning is flavorful, but quite mild. I like to add a few potatoes and some diced carrots and serve the whole thing down over a bowl of rice . Mmmmm, comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Ress Shearer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
This is awesome and so easy. I doubled the recipe and omitted the tomato sauce and used instead one can of tomato paste and TWO 28 ounce cans of diced tomatoes. Instead of vegetable oil, I used coconut oil and heated the curry powder for about 5 minutes before adding the onion and garlic and continuing to heat through for about 10 minutes. I found I needed to add more oil before adding the chicken. Added the tomatoes, paste and coconut milk and was instantly delish. Because we like spice I added a couple of Tbsps of Rooster Brand garlic chilli sauce and about a tsp of garam masala. Absolutely fantastic. As far as it being mild as written, it is. For those who like a stronger curry; as with most curry dishes I try, I added 1 1/2 times the curry in the beginning. Will simmer like a stew for a couple of hours and probably add some veggies later. Already tastes and smells amazing! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I made it as written, but didn't care for the strong tomato taste. Like canned soup, as another reviewer said. I fixed it by adding waaay more curry and some half and half. Then it was good, but I missed having some potatoes in it, and maybe peas. I think I'll try a different curry recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
It was really bland. I was expecting a nice curry kick. If I were to make it again I'd add a LOT more curry powder and less tomato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,922) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Curried Coconut Chicken

See how to make quick-and-easy curried chicken.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States