Curried Coconut Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
I used coconut oil instead of vegetable oil. This created more sauce than normal which was really nice for dipping naan. Whole family loved it and it was a nice change from the spicy curry we usually have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen
Home Town: Meadville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
I was so sure I was gong to like this - it had great reviews! Followed the recipe to they"T" too ... Had to thicken it (too runny) and it just tasted like tomato soup with chicken. The chicken could have cooked in the 30-40 minute simmer - which would have saved a lot of time too. I love curry too but I don't recommend this one ;(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jake's Mom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ernie
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
This was delicious! I followed the recipe (almost) exactly, just a few minor tweaks. I added just a little pinch of cumin to give it an extra kick. I had exactly 2 Tablespoons of yellow curry powder, so i used that.. I wish I had a little bit more to add - or something stronger, I felt it needed something more (but thats my personal taste), I also threw in some frozen broccoli & served it over brown rice. I did let it simmer for about an hour and a half, and it thickened up - just not enough for me - so i added 2 Tablespoons of cornstarch into 2 Tablespoons of water and mixed that into the curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
This was good. I used madras curry powder (what I had on hand) and added 1 cup frozen peas at the end. Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I've only made curry a few times before and this was easy and delicious. The only change I've made ( by accident) is to use chipotle roasted tomatoes instead of plain canned ones. My husband strongly approved of the gentle kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TRINAA15
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I made this tonight and OH MY! My son is eating his seconds as I type this. It was soooo good! I did read some of the reviews and made a few minor changes. I sauteed the curry powder (I used yellow--and added some turmeric as well) in the oil for about five minutes, then added the garlic and onion (Which I diced up using my Ninja chopper). I used veg oil but I had coconut oil in the cabinet and think I will use that next time. I used boneless, skinless thighs instead of breasts (hubby and son prefer them over the white meat) and added those to the mix. Simmered as was stated for 7-10 minutes then added light Coconut milk (I'll use regular next time I think), a splash of low-sodium chicken broth that I had in the fridge, and Redpack petite diced tomatoes (drained the juice). I didn't have tomato sauce and saw that some reviewers left it out anyway (I am not a big tomato lover), so I omitted that. As it was simmering, I added a sprinkle of cumin, some more turmeric and some more curry powder because when I tasted it, it was too tomatoey. I only added four tsps of sugar also. I did add a TBSP of cornstarch in the last ten mins just because I wanted it to thicken up a bit faster. Served it over Basmati rice and a side of garlic Naan bread and it was DELICIOUS!!! The chicken thighs were great to use because they literally melted in your mouth. I wanted to go back for seconds but my stomach was full from eating the firsts! :D Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
As is, I give it 4 stars - great over rice. Could use more curry and coconut flavor, along with a thicker sauce. With modifications, I give it 5 stars: 2.5 lb chicken, 3 tbsp curry, lite coconut milk, tomato paste instead of sauce, drain stewed tomatoes; add 1 tsp red pepper flakes, 1 diced jalapeno, 1/8 cup crushed cashews, 1-2 tsp cornstarch; simmer uncovered. Superb with modifications. Kitchen will smell like curry for days. Serves well in a pita as leftovers, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Winnetka, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
Amazing! The first time I made it as written but accidentally used Italian style diced tomatoes instead of plain and it was so good! I later tried it with plain and it wasn't nearly as flavorful so I always use Italian. I love this recipe so much I made a vegetarian version I could eat while nursing a baby with chicken allergies. Instead of chicken I put in a russet potato, 2 carrots, 2 apples, 2 celery sticks, and 1/4 cup golden raisins (don't let the raisins frighten you, they are great in there). It's so yummy it's gotten rave reviews from everyone I've made it for. I also cook the curry paste in oil for longer, 5 minutes or so, then add the onions to saute for 10 minutes before adding more ingredients. It makes a big difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nenasinpena
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
I followed the recipe pretty much the whole way. It was perfecttttt I just added some hot sauce cause I love spicy food. And next time I won't add sugar cause 3 tablespoons was too sweet for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by zoomimage
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
This. Is a must make so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zoomimage

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,799) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Curried Coconut Chicken

See how to make quick-and-easy curried chicken.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Panang Curry with Chicken

See how to make authentic southern Thai-style chicken curry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States