Curried Coconut Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by ernie
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
This was delicious! I followed the recipe (almost) exactly, just a few minor tweaks. I added just a little pinch of cumin to give it an extra kick. I had exactly 2 Tablespoons of yellow curry powder, so i used that.. I wish I had a little bit more to add - or something stronger, I felt it needed something more (but thats my personal taste), I also threw in some frozen broccoli & served it over brown rice. I did let it simmer for about an hour and a half, and it thickened up - just not enough for me - so i added 2 Tablespoons of cornstarch into 2 Tablespoons of water and mixed that into the curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
This was good. I used madras curry powder (what I had on hand) and added 1 cup frozen peas at the end. Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I've only made curry a few times before and this was easy and delicious. The only change I've made ( by accident) is to use chipotle roasted tomatoes instead of plain canned ones. My husband strongly approved of the gentle kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TRINAA15
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I made this tonight and OH MY! My son is eating his seconds as I type this. It was soooo good! I did read some of the reviews and made a few minor changes. I sauteed the curry powder (I used yellow--and added some turmeric as well) in the oil for about five minutes, then added the garlic and onion (Which I diced up using my Ninja chopper). I used veg oil but I had coconut oil in the cabinet and think I will use that next time. I used boneless, skinless thighs instead of breasts (hubby and son prefer them over the white meat) and added those to the mix. Simmered as was stated for 7-10 minutes then added light Coconut milk (I'll use regular next time I think), a splash of low-sodium chicken broth that I had in the fridge, and Redpack petite diced tomatoes (drained the juice). I didn't have tomato sauce and saw that some reviewers left it out anyway (I am not a big tomato lover), so I omitted that. As it was simmering, I added a sprinkle of cumin, some more turmeric and some more curry powder because when I tasted it, it was too tomatoey. I only added four tsps of sugar also. I did add a TBSP of cornstarch in the last ten mins just because I wanted it to thicken up a bit faster. Served it over Basmati rice and a side of garlic Naan bread and it was DELICIOUS!!! The chicken thighs were great to use because they literally melted in your mouth. I wanted to go back for seconds but my stomach was full from eating the firsts! :D Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
As is, I give it 4 stars - great over rice. Could use more curry and coconut flavor, along with a thicker sauce. With modifications, I give it 5 stars: 2.5 lb chicken, 3 tbsp curry, lite coconut milk, tomato paste instead of sauce, drain stewed tomatoes; add 1 tsp red pepper flakes, 1 diced jalapeno, 1/8 cup crushed cashews, 1-2 tsp cornstarch; simmer uncovered. Superb with modifications. Kitchen will smell like curry for days. Serves well in a pita as leftovers, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Winnetka, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
Amazing! The first time I made it as written but accidentally used Italian style diced tomatoes instead of plain and it was so good! I later tried it with plain and it wasn't nearly as flavorful so I always use Italian. I love this recipe so much I made a vegetarian version I could eat while nursing a baby with chicken allergies. Instead of chicken I put in a russet potato, 2 carrots, 2 apples, 2 celery sticks, and 1/4 cup golden raisins (don't let the raisins frighten you, they are great in there). It's so yummy it's gotten rave reviews from everyone I've made it for. I also cook the curry paste in oil for longer, 5 minutes or so, then add the onions to saute for 10 minutes before adding more ingredients. It makes a big difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nenasinpena
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
I followed the recipe pretty much the whole way. It was perfecttttt I just added some hot sauce cause I love spicy food. And next time I won't add sugar cause 3 tablespoons was too sweet for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by zoomimage
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
This. Is a must make so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zoomimage

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Wow. Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mkluk
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
I substituted half the chicken for potatoes... That ratio may be a touch off, but regardless, this dish was so delicious!!!! And also very easy to make. Prep, cook, done... All in one pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,787) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Curried Coconut Chicken

See how to make quick-and-easy curried chicken.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Panang Curry with Chicken

See how to make authentic southern Thai-style chicken curry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States