Curried Coconut Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
Love, love this recipe! The only small change I make to the ingredients is to use diced tomatoes because I don't have to chop up the stewed tomatoes. When I cook it, I skip the simmer and let it boil for about 30 minutes to reduce the liquids, then I cut it down to low and let it simmer while I make rice and veggies. The end result is tender, tasty chicken chunks and a thick, well-blended sauce. The only complaint I've had is from the hubs who wants more spice, but my picky 5-year-old eats it, so Daddy will have to be okay with the missing spice. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
This dish turned out DELICIOUS but was so mild that I added ANOTHER 4 tbsp. of curry powder. I substituted diced potatoes, cauliflower, carrots and frozen peas for the chicken, and left out the sugar. I followed the recipe exactly except because I didn't use chicken, I tossed the raw veggies (except peas) into the sauce and simmered for about 90 mins. I threw the frozen peas in for the last 10 mins. and served over basmati rice. Next time I will cook the veggies before adding to the sauce because even after 90 mins. they still were not quite soft enough. I'm looking forward to making this with chicken when my vegetarian isn't home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
Loved this recipe, We omitted the tomato sauce and added chicken broth instead, also added a little cumin and red and yellow bell peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Followed recipe exactly but toasted the curry before adding anything else. Sauteed onion few mins then added garlic so it didn't burn. Simmered for an hour. Chicken was tender and sauce is tasty! Served over brown rice and steamed carrots. Excited to make this again! Yummers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
This is awesome. I like curry so I add extra curry to make the taste splendid! Also, curry is a great lactation enabler. If you read the ingredients, it's made out of fenugreek. Awesome recipe! I love it and I just had a baby so it's just so timely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Absolutely Delicious! But, I recommend that this recipe be very specific about using either unsweetened or sweetened coconut milk. Some reviewers are adamant about one or the other. So, if you question the 3 T. of sugar called for (some say it's too much), it largely depends on the type of coconut milk you use! I used unsweetened milk, and the 3 T. of sugar was perfect. Had I used sweetened coconut milk, I would have definitely decreased the sugar amount. This fact alone could make or break the recipe. Curry powders differ greatly, too, so just experiment! I use Madras Hot Curry Powder and increased the amount to 3 T. Cook Stephanie has great advice to "cook the curry powder in the oil until it's ready - usually about 5 minutes. Then add the onion & spice - cook until the onion is translucent. This will take about 10 minutes, but it makes all the difference in the world. Add more oil as the onion is cooking, if necessary." (I use coconut oil in this dish.) The only other change I made was with the tomatoes -- I used about 24 oz. of canned diced tomatoes (part of a large can), and added no tomato sauce. That way, we had more sauce. It all thickened up nicely after simmering for 60 to 90 minutes, which allowed us time to sip wine and visit. We were supposed to go out to dinner the night after serving this, but we decided to stay home instead, because we had leftover Curried Coconut Chicken in the fridge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happy Cookah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Awesome! I made this dish for my Caribbean food loving boyfriend. He loved it. I did make a few substitutes, I used minced garlic and chicken thighs. And I added sliced thick potatoes and baby carrots. I let the veggies cook in the sauce a little while I cooked the chicken separately seasoned with curry powder, onion powder, and garlic powder before adding it to the curry sauce pot. I also added additional curry powder, onion powder, garlic powder, and salt to taste. After letting it cook for a little until I felt everything was tender, I pulled it off the eye and let it sit. This was awesome over rice and a little cabbage on the side, Caribbean style!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
We have been looking for a curry this good since visiting and dining out a little bit in the NYC area. We have tried other curry sauces, but none of them have tasted anywhere near this good. I do add one caveat. We did just switch curry powders (a store brand to mccormick), so this is assuming that wasn't the dominant factor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
Believe the hype. This was phenomenal and I can't wait to make it again! It is a bit of work (we get our chicken from a farm so dicing up the chicken thighs takes a bit). I used red curry paste and cooked it in coconut oil for a few mins, then added the onion & garlic, then the chicken. It smelled so good, I wanted to eat it all then! I added some cashews and meant to top it with a little shredded coconut but forgot. Would definitely add the cashews again. Also, my husband noted that this would be delicious with pineapple chunks, and I agree. I will give that a try next time! (Which probably won't be too long from now!) Also, it did take a good hour+ of simmering (a double recipe). At about 45-50 mins it still looked quite thin and I was a bit disappointed - if you get to that spot, just WAIT! It thickened up SO beautifully into this silky, luxurious sauce. Wait it out, it's worth it. My 2.5yo is usually a good eater but has been quite picky the past few months... but with this dish he kept exclaiming "I LOVE rice! I LOVE rice!", so that's high praise indeed. He cleared his plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chickadee

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
Tasted very good; made it with light coconut - will use regular next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brighton, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,797) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Curried Coconut Chicken

See how to make quick-and-easy curried chicken.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Panang Curry with Chicken

See how to make authentic southern Thai-style chicken curry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States