Curried Coconut Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by TRINAA15
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I made this tonight and OH MY! My son is eating his seconds as I type this. It was soooo good! I did read some of the reviews and made a few minor changes. I sauteed the curry powder (I used yellow--and added some turmeric as well) in the oil for about five minutes, then added the garlic and onion (Which I diced up using my Ninja chopper). I used veg oil but I had coconut oil in the cabinet and think I will use that next time. I used boneless, skinless thighs instead of breasts (hubby and son prefer them over the white meat) and added those to the mix. Simmered as was stated for 7-10 minutes then added light Coconut milk (I'll use regular next time I think), a splash of low-sodium chicken broth that I had in the fridge, and Redpack petite diced tomatoes (drained the juice). I didn't have tomato sauce and saw that some reviewers left it out anyway (I am not a big tomato lover), so I omitted that. As it was simmering, I added a sprinkle of cumin, some more turmeric and some more curry powder because when I tasted it, it was too tomatoey. I only added four tsps of sugar also. I did add a TBSP of cornstarch in the last ten mins just because I wanted it to thicken up a bit faster. Served it over Basmati rice and a side of garlic Naan bread and it was DELICIOUS!!! The chicken thighs were great to use because they literally melted in your mouth. I wanted to go back for seconds but my stomach was full from eating the firsts! :D Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
As is, I give it 4 stars - great over rice. Could use more curry and coconut flavor, along with a thicker sauce. With modifications, I give it 5 stars: 2.5 lb chicken, 3 tbsp curry, lite coconut milk, tomato paste instead of sauce, drain stewed tomatoes; add 1 tsp red pepper flakes, 1 diced jalapeno, 1/8 cup crushed cashews, 1-2 tsp cornstarch; simmer uncovered. Superb with modifications. Kitchen will smell like curry for days. Serves well in a pita as leftovers, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Winnetka, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
Amazing! The first time I made it as written but accidentally used Italian style diced tomatoes instead of plain and it was so good! I later tried it with plain and it wasn't nearly as flavorful so I always use Italian. I love this recipe so much I made a vegetarian version I could eat while nursing a baby with chicken allergies. Instead of chicken I put in a russet potato, 2 carrots, 2 apples, 2 celery sticks, and 1/4 cup golden raisins (don't let the raisins frighten you, they are great in there). It's so yummy it's gotten rave reviews from everyone I've made it for. I also cook the curry paste in oil for longer, 5 minutes or so, then add the onions to saute for 10 minutes before adding more ingredients. It makes a big difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nenasinpena
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
I followed the recipe pretty much the whole way. It was perfecttttt I just added some hot sauce cause I love spicy food. And next time I won't add sugar cause 3 tablespoons was too sweet for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by zoomimage
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
This. Is a must make so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zoomimage

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Wow. Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mkluk
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
I substituted half the chicken for potatoes... That ratio may be a touch off, but regardless, this dish was so delicious!!!! And also very easy to make. Prep, cook, done... All in one pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Easy to make and tastes great. I served it with basmati rice and peas. I also made naan which added some fun Indian flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
This recipe is Amazing!!! I have recently fell in love with this dish at a local Thai restaurant and decided to make it at home. Not only is this recipe delicious but it blows away the version I originally fell for. I followed all of the instructions as is except I used coconut oil instead of vegetable oil to not only make it a bit healthier but to enhance the coconut flavor. I also added diced sweet potato, zucchini, red bell pepper, and shredded carrots to make it a bit heartier. I also added 2 chicken bullion cubes, chopped cilantro, a pinch of cumin, and some cayenne pepper to kick up the flavor a bit more. I served it over jasmine rice with a quick squeeze of lime juice. Was hoping to have left overs but it was completely devoured within seconds of me plating it. Can't wait to make again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
I've made this many times and I follow another's reviewers comments and make the "broth" first. Turns out great every time. Highly recommend this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,754) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Curried Coconut Chicken

See how to make quick-and-easy curried chicken.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Panang Curry with Chicken

See how to make authentic southern Thai-style chicken curry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States