Curried Coconut Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
This is an excellent curry for anyone new to making curry. Probably the MOST important thing to keep in mind when making a curry is that the quality of the curry powder (or paste) will mean the difference between a great dish and a poor dish. There are a lot of mediocre (at best) powders out there, and they will result in a mediocre dish. I can just about guarantee that the reviewers claiming this was "bland" used a mediocre (or old) powder. The second thing that I need to say is in response to the comment advising people to use sweetened coconut milk. With all due respect, this is not a good suggestion. I'm a seasoned (pun intended) curry maker, and I've never seen any recipe that called for sweetened coconut milk. Of course, the "correct" thing to do is what works best for your palate, but it's certainly not traditional to use sweetened coconut milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Left out the sugar and was still a great sweetness from the coco milk. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Reecy1009
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
I love this recipe!! My husband and daughter are from West Africa and I am constantly trying to find recipes that will satisfy their taste as well as my own. This recipe is one of the most delicious meals that I have ever made. I added 1 additional tablespoon of curry powder for extra flavor. I am definitely adding this to my menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
This is delicious! Thank you ROMA for the recipe I've been wanting for years after having in a Thai restaurant! My boyfriend and I made this together, using chicken thighs instead of breasts because we really wanted the meat to remain moist. We used a mixture of curry's, including Penzy's sweet curry (yum), red curry paste, and a curry powder that I got at an Indian store. We added two minced serrano's for added heat. Chaokoh coconut milk was the PERFECT product for this-nice and thick and I highly recommend it. We drained the tomatoes, added a pinch of lemongrass, only 2 tablespoons of sugar, and simmered uncovered for less than thirty minutes and it was perfectly thick, lucious, and creamy. Even though we used all the tomato products (minus the drained liquid), this did not have a strong tomato flavor or even a red color. It was a golden orange- probably because most of our curry was the yellow variety. Served with Indian jeera rice (which includes cumin seed) and a cold chick pea and cucumber salad. You deserve all five stars for sure! Can't wait to eat the leftovers and make again! Now- to everyone who had disappointing results I just want to say how important it is to use high quality ingredients- especially the curry mixture and coconut milk. The spice is such a dominant flavor in the dish that a substandard mixture could very well ruin it. It's hard to end with a quality dish if you don't start with quality ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
Absolutely delicious! My boys love it and request this dish as often as I am willing to make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cheathamama
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
This dish was very delicious! The only thing I did differently was use fresh tomatoes and curry paste. My guys loved it including my very picky 5 year old. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheathamama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Van Buren, Indiana, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
This recipe was awesome! Followed the recipe almost exactly, and I was surprised how good it was. Rarely use coconut milk, so I don't know if that was the secret ingredient, but this will certainly be a recipe I will make again in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
this is not what a curry should taste like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
This is a winter favorite at our house. The seasoning is flavorful, but quite mild. I like to add a few potatoes and some diced carrots and serve the whole thing down over a bowl of rice . Mmmmm, comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Ress Shearer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
This is awesome and so easy. I doubled the recipe and omitted the tomato sauce and used instead one can of tomato paste and TWO 28 ounce cans of diced tomatoes. Instead of vegetable oil, I used coconut oil and heated the curry powder for about 5 minutes before adding the onion and garlic and continuing to heat through for about 10 minutes. I found I needed to add more oil before adding the chicken. Added the tomatoes, paste and coconut milk and was instantly delish. Because we like spice I added a couple of Tbsps of Rooster Brand garlic chilli sauce and about a tsp of garam masala. Absolutely fantastic. As far as it being mild as written, it is. For those who like a stronger curry; as with most curry dishes I try, I added 1 1/2 times the curry in the beginning. Will simmer like a stew for a couple of hours and probably add some veggies later. Already tastes and smells amazing! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,864) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Curried Coconut Chicken

See how to make quick-and-easy curried chicken.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Panang Curry with Chicken

See how to make authentic southern Thai-style chicken curry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States