Cucumber Raita Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2006
This was so yummy! I forgot the lemon and added some cilantro, but I know that would have made it even better. Also, I chopped up the cukes after I sliced them to make it easier for dipping. Definetely try to make it a little early. I didn't let mine sit too long, but when I went back to it later, I could detect more mint. It goes good with Indian aloo matar gobi and helps cool the spiciness. Also, I dipped chapati bread in it. Nice healthy dinner. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIUKAT

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
I used regular yogurt instead and it worked well. It wasn't as firm as it would have been if I had used the Greek Yogurt (which I knew ahead of time). Goes VERY well with the Moroccan Couscous and Lamb Tagine recipes. I served it alongside the two recipes noted and it went perfectly. I will absolutely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babylynnz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Lake Tahoe, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
This is my recipe, and I want to explain to the last poster why I use Greek style yogurt. The cucumbers will weep a tremendous amount of liquid, especially if you let this sit all day or overnight. If you do not use a firmer yogurt to start, you will end up with a watery Raita. Since you used regular yogurt and actually added water, perhaps you either used fewer cucumbers, did not let yours sit in the refrigerator to blend the flavors as long as I did, or perhaps you just like it watery. While I agree that Raita should be saucy, I do not think it should be watery, hence the Greek yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
158 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
Very refreshing - we use this as a dressing in our turkey wraps and for dipping veggies too! I make it and add cucumbers right before I am going to servce it so they are still crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
This was terrific. I made the recipe exactly as written. The first night I served it with Tandoori Chicken. The second night we made pitas stuffed with cucumber raita, leftover tandoori chicken, and couscous. A light, refreshing summer dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
Excellent recipe! I have been searching for a cucumber raita recipes for a while and this one is the best I've found. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
Good and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Clunis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Upper Darby, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
very delicious and authentic tasting recipe. I suggest using greek yogurt instead of trying to substitute it with regular plain yogurt to get a creamier and less watery texture. i grated 1 cucumber and strained it very well through a paper towel. i just put the it in the paper towel and squeezed all the liquid out and dumped the shredded cucumber with the sauce and it came out GREAT. i liked having the subtle taste of cucumber instead of chunks of it. =) very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
Great. We actually made it with regular yogurt (low fat), used the vegetable peeler for the cucumber, used dried mint (1/3 the amount), and did not let it sit (just ate it right away). It was close enough to Indian restaurant raita to satisfy us. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
Loved it! I like my raita thick (I've had it both thick and thin in restaurants) and the Greek yogurt does the trick. Now I never have to go out for Indian food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Creamy Dill Cucumber Toasties

This simple, creamy appetizer takes its cue from English tea sandwiches.

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States