Cucumber Raita Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
wow this was good: really, really good! i have been craving Indian food since we moved from England to the US, and this was reminiscent of the raita we used to get at our local Indian take-out restaurant in England! i used fatfree yogurt and added some fat free sour cream for body, and used Splenda instead of sugar: this will become a staple "must have in the fridge" at our house! thank you!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyd_Delve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
2 cups of Greek yogurt was way too much for my taste...I will use 1 cup in the future, but overall the taste was great! A wonderful summer dish that I served with my own North African Paella.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Herndon, Virginia, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
The subtle flavours in this raita give a nice cooling balance to spicy meals. Served it with veggie samosas, Spicy Tomato Chutney (from this site) Chicken Jalfrezi (from this site) and naan bread. Everyone enjoyed it. It would also make a nice salad dressing or veggie dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
Quite a different way to make cucumber salad ... with the mint, but I liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHINYHAPPYRAYS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bedburg, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
Great Raita. I prepared it with one small addition and that was adding one teaspoon of cumin. It provided it with an exceptional taste and authenticity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
This was very good. I served it along with the Moroccan Couscous, and the Cold Roasted Moroccan Spiced Salmon. I had to omit the mint, and added some garlic powder. Very cool and refreshing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
We love this with Naan! I didn't have frsh mint and really didn't want to buy it just for 2 TBSP so I used 2 tsp. dried mint and my husband and I both thought it was fine. We will definitely have this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
very delicious and authentic tasting recipe. I suggest using greek yogurt instead of trying to substitute it with regular plain yogurt to get a creamier and less watery texture. i grated 1 cucumber and strained it very well through a paper towel. i just put the it in the paper towel and squeezed all the liquid out and dumped the shredded cucumber with the sauce and it came out GREAT. i liked having the subtle taste of cucumber instead of chunks of it. =) very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
Loved it! I like my raita thick (I've had it both thick and thin in restaurants) and the Greek yogurt does the trick. Now I never have to go out for Indian food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Warsaw, Masovian, Poland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Creamy Dill Cucumber Toasties

This simple, creamy appetizer takes its cue from English tea sandwiches.

Cucumber Sandwiches I

Yummy little party sandwiches with cocktail rye bread and cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States