Cucumber Raita Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
I can't believe how good this raita is! I tried a similar recipe some years ago and that one turned out yuck. This one, though, my goodness... I could eat tubs of this. In case it helps to know: I tossed de-seeded slices of an English cucumber in my food processor, I added a dash of cumin, and I used two small cups of low-fat Fage yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
This was pretty good even though we had to substitute mint with cilantro. Made just half the mixture but was enough as a dip for curry puffs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nonarina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
Followed the recipe exactly (first time with this cuisine), and the consistency and flavor was very good. As other reviewers have mentioned, it is a bit tart, but that was fine when eaten with the Lamb L'Arabique and Moroccan Couscous that I served it with. Next time, maybe a bit more sugar or honey (as another reviewer suggested).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robgraphics

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sharon, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Westlake Village, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
very good! I like the flavour, it could be thicker even though I used greek yogurt - maybe ill strain it next time :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalynn Sinnamon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Very good and easy to make. I took the advice of one reviewer and sprinkled salt on the sliced cucumber, let it bleed some liquid out, before squeezing it adding it to the yogurt mixture. Perfect finished texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geezboyz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
I used 2 seedless cucumbers that don't need to be peeled, a little more than 1 cup fat-free Greek yogurt, 1/4 cup lemon juice, 2 green onions finely chopped (just the white and beginning of the green), 1 t of garlic finely minced, 1 t sugar, 1/2 t salt, pepper, drizzle of olive oil, and dill. I have eaten raita with dill before and didn't have mint on hand. I let stand overnight in fridge before serving; it was not runny, and the flavors married perfectly. We served with chicken cabobs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Served this with brown basmati rice , saag paneer, nan and some other things the other day. It isn't necessary to use only greek yogurt. Just let drain some regular non fat yogurt through a fine seive/coffee filter. I used fresh yogurt I made the day before. This recipe can be used in so many ways. I even use it for salad dressing! Delicious; so refreshing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
We had this with the Lamb Tagine (well, we made beef Tagine) and this was our favorite part. I will probably make this again to go with other recipies. Had to cut the recipe in half though because it makes a bit too much to be used as a condiment for just three people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Good base, but I used only 1 seedless cucumber, rough chopped; cilantro instead of mint; and added 1 tsp cumin. Pretty much exactly what I wanted. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NJFoodies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I really liked the mint and cucumber flavour combination. It was very refreshing. I have made this a few times now and am sure to make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Creamy Dill Cucumber Toasties

This simple, creamy appetizer takes its cue from English tea sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States