Cuban-Style Yucca Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 2, 2015
+extra lemon juice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
This was so over powering. The Taste is nothing more than brute force by onion and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
This is a great way to cook yucca but the time should be 25/30 min. You need very soft yucca. I have been cooking it for years but instead of using oil I cook bacon and use that fat to cook the garlic and add sour orange instead of lime/lemon. Make sure not to burn the garlic or bacon and add all of it on top of the yucca. Hit every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
I didn't realize this was so easy to make! I always get yucca at my local Cuban restaurant and this tasted better than theirs. My wife doesn't really eat yucca but she loved this. Definitely making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
I expected more garlic flavor, thought it was very mild tasting. Small thing, but I've never had it served in strips like this recipe calls for, and if I make again, I'll simply cut it into chunks. You definitely will need to cook this longer than 15 minutes for it to become tender, so plan accordingly. Enjoyed it, but I must say it's not my favorite recipe for Cuban yucca.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by Ann Marie Natal
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
Pretty simple recipe to make using Yucca. Some important changes from the recipe were made though. The original cooking time posted in the recipe is rather short. To ensure doneness, I boiled it for 45 minutes (or until tender.) I doubled the amount of lemon juice and added lime juice as well. Some butter was thrown in there as well. At the end, I added salt and pepper to taste. Pretty nice side item to any meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Marie Natal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
I have always ate it boiled with a cilantro,green onion,salt,olive oil and lime mixture poured over the top.My boyfriend is from Venezuela and that's how they make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
This was ok, it is missing something, just don't know what. Make sure you remove the stringy cord when you slice it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
Used this as my base and replaced the lemon with lime! Love it, has a wonderful tangy taste and wanted to follow the suggestion from a Cuban point of view. Plus, I love my dishes with lime or lemon for that matter, you just have to know which flavor satisfies your taste buds! Thanks 0;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
Simple and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Celery Root Mash

See how to make a quick, creamy vegetable side dish.

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Ginger Carrots and Dates

Brown sugar and chopped dates add a sweet counterpoint to spicy gingered carrots.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States