Crispy Gingersnaps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2000
This is an excellent recipe. It tastes just like the ones you can buy in a bag at the grocery store. Using vegetable shortening is why their so crispy. One note, if you want them nice and flat, once you put them on the cookie sheet, flatten them slightly. Or, when they have baked for half their time, remove sheet from oven, and gently "drop" or "bang" sheet on counter 1 or 2 times, and cookies will flatten. I have used this recipe in a cooking class and it's always been a success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
Baking these for ten minutes gave me cookies with a little crunch on the outside and soft in the middle. At twelve minutes they're crunchy "snaps." I love them either way. Even when they're not completely flat, they're crispy, and the flavor is wonderful. Not excessively spicy, but I think they're just right. I'll make them again and again, even though I hate the smell of molasses and ginger!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MagicallyDelicious

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2001
this is the best recipe for gingersnaps that I have ever made. They are wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2001
Loved it.... Love it... Love it... WE ALL LOVED IT!!!!! Thumbs up to Larry!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2002
These have become my families favorite gingersnap recipe. They don't last long so make a double batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
This is an excellent cookie. My husband loved them and I have been trying to find "one like my mother use to make" for a long time now. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2003
The best gingersnap cookies! I followed the recipe exactly. Watch the time while baking, though - one minute means the difference between a chewy cookie and a "snap."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2003
These are the best gingersnap cookies ever and very very easy to make, even for a beginner like me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2004
A friend and I had a sudden craving for these one day and I had never made them before. Of course I turned to Allrecipes to find a recipe. These were absolutely wonderful! The only things I did differently was grating a little fresh nutmeg in with the dry ingredients and flattening them out a little before baking - I just happen to like them very crispy. When you do that you really have to watch them carefully so they don't burn, but they were yummy! Definitely will be making these again. Thanks, Larry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHINASMOM2000

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2004
Delicious gingersnaps, exactly the way I wanted them. I made a few changes, though: I rolled dough into 1.5 inch balls and flattened them before cooking. I increased cooking time accordingly, 14 to 16 minutes. Tastes a lot like Belgian speculoos. 2 thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IVANDIEPART

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brussels, Brussels, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Crispy Rosemary Chicken and Fries

A complete, one-pan meal that’s in the oven in just 15 minutes.

Thin Mint Crackers

These delicious chocolate-covered crackers are so easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States