Crispy Gingersnaps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
I just have to add my two cents worth and say how absolutely AMAZING these cookies are! I've baked them three times in the last two days (see, I told you they're amazing!), each with a different balance of spices (once as written, once with the addition of some nutmeg and allspice and less ginger, and once with more molasses and the addition of nutmeg), all with spectacular results. Some things I found helpful: 1) I baked them on parchment paper for exactly 13 minutes...perfect every time!; 2) I used a 1" scoop and then rolled the cookies in sugar on the non-flat sides; 3) I used the back of a wooden spoon to flatten a bit before baking, and 4) the longer you beat the shortening with the sugar and egg, the crispier and more crumbly the cookie. They do look exactly like the photo, and as perfect as something manufactured commercially, but with a MUCH better taste. Thank you, Larry, for what is now probably my favorite cookie recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
I've been looking for a gingersnap recipe that makes a crispy, crunchy cookie, and I'm happy to report that this is DEFINITELY it!! A few notes for those who are looking for that familiar degree of spiciness that leaves a bit of warmth in your mouth after the cookie is gone; add a couple of shakes of cayenne pepper to your dough and mix well. You can also use ground white pepper. Many folks think they need to use more ginger, but 1 Tb is plenty for the size of this recipe. More ginger won't give you that zing, but pepper will. The recipe made 40 perfect little disks. I rolled them in sugar laced with more ginger, and flattened the balls slightly. They baked up nice and flat, looking much like the commercial variety, with a far superior flavor. Thank you SOOOOoooo much for this wonderful recipe. The one I've been searching for for decades!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2006
Amazing! I have been looking for a thin crispy gingersnap recipe and this was perfect. I did substitute real butter for the shortening to eliminate any trans fats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2000
This is an excellent recipe. It tastes just like the ones you can buy in a bag at the grocery store. Using vegetable shortening is why their so crispy. One note, if you want them nice and flat, once you put them on the cookie sheet, flatten them slightly. Or, when they have baked for half their time, remove sheet from oven, and gently "drop" or "bang" sheet on counter 1 or 2 times, and cookies will flatten. I have used this recipe in a cooking class and it's always been a success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
Outstanding is not a strong enough word! My son is a pumpkin pie fanatic but after these, he has a new favorite dessert. I followed some of the other suggestions listed. I baked it on parchment and added a touch of nutmeg and cloves. I also flattened them out a little before baking. I couldn't believe how easy they were to make. Best cookies I've had in ages!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BogiesGirl
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
This is an awesome recipe!! I made it 4 separate times during the holidays and they were devoured each time! They are perfectly crisp, perfectly spiced...... all fingers and toes UP! 5 stars!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BogiesGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milan, Michigan, USA
Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2000
Very Yummy, just as I remember them at Grandma's house. I added a touch of fresh groung nutmeg and used organic dehydrated cane sugar ( much better for you then white sugar), then pressed them flat before putting them in the oven. For some added holiday fun, I dipped one half of each cookie in melted white chocolate. mmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
These are the best gingersnaps I have ever had! They're crispy on the outside and slightly soft in the center and super easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
These cookies look beautiful but they aren't a flat crispy cookie. They are chewy and puffy. For a more traditional gingersnap I would add a little nutmeg and maybe cloves. I had to cook these significantly longer than 12 minutes but that might just have been because of my oven. Overall a good cookie and a nice change for the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2004
These were so yummy. I had to increase the cook time by about five minutes to get a firmer cookie. But that was fine with me because they SMELLED AMAZING while they were in the oven! My family went through a double batch in no time. This recipe was a huge hit in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Crispy Rosemary Chicken and Fries

A complete, one-pan meal that’s in the oven in just 15 minutes.

Thin Mint Crackers

These delicious chocolate-covered crackers are so easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States