Crispy Gingersnaps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2005
While these were not as thin and therefore lacking the real potatochip-like crisp I was looking for, the taste was really delicious. I'll save this recipe for a slightly thicker version and also add an extra 1/2 teaspoon or more of spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUBLIMEMIND82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
Delicious! Watch the time on them. My oven temp. might be a bit off so I only cooked them for 8 1/2 minutes and they were perfect. Ten minutes was just a bit too long for mine. They taste so much better than the ones in the bag!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
These cookies were very good. I made the recipe exact as written. I pressed them down with a glass after rolling them in white sugar. They baked in about 10 min. They did spread a bit, which I liked. They were crisp on the outside edges and chewy in the middle. They will be good for making ginger bread people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
I just have to add my two cents worth and say how absolutely AMAZING these cookies are! I've baked them three times in the last two days (see, I told you they're amazing!), each with a different balance of spices (once as written, once with the addition of some nutmeg and allspice and less ginger, and once with more molasses and the addition of nutmeg), all with spectacular results. Some things I found helpful: 1) I baked them on parchment paper for exactly 13 minutes...perfect every time!; 2) I used a 1" scoop and then rolled the cookies in sugar on the non-flat sides; 3) I used the back of a wooden spoon to flatten a bit before baking, and 4) the longer you beat the shortening with the sugar and egg, the crispier and more crumbly the cookie. They do look exactly like the photo, and as perfect as something manufactured commercially, but with a MUCH better taste. Thank you, Larry, for what is now probably my favorite cookie recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
Baking these for ten minutes gave me cookies with a little crunch on the outside and soft in the middle. At twelve minutes they're crunchy "snaps." I love them either way. Even when they're not completely flat, they're crispy, and the flavor is wonderful. Not excessively spicy, but I think they're just right. I'll make them again and again, even though I hate the smell of molasses and ginger!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MagicallyDelicious

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2004
Delicious gingersnaps, exactly the way I wanted them. I made a few changes, though: I rolled dough into 1.5 inch balls and flattened them before cooking. I increased cooking time accordingly, 14 to 16 minutes. Tastes a lot like Belgian speculoos. 2 thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IVANDIEPART

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brussels, Brussels, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2004
A friend and I had a sudden craving for these one day and I had never made them before. Of course I turned to Allrecipes to find a recipe. These were absolutely wonderful! The only things I did differently was grating a little fresh nutmeg in with the dry ingredients and flattening them out a little before baking - I just happen to like them very crispy. When you do that you really have to watch them carefully so they don't burn, but they were yummy! Definitely will be making these again. Thanks, Larry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHINASMOM2000

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2004
These were so yummy. I had to increase the cook time by about five minutes to get a firmer cookie. But that was fine with me because they SMELLED AMAZING while they were in the oven! My family went through a double batch in no time. This recipe was a huge hit in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2003
These are the best gingersnap cookies ever and very very easy to make, even for a beginner like me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2003
The best gingersnap cookies! I followed the recipe exactly. Watch the time while baking, though - one minute means the difference between a chewy cookie and a "snap."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Crispy Rosemary Chicken and Fries

A complete, one-pan meal that’s in the oven in just 15 minutes.

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States