Crispy Gingersnaps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
The cookies themselves were very yummy, but try as I might I could not get them crispy, which was a problem, since I wanted to grind them and use as a pie crust. I have no idea how anyone could have burned these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
The yummiest, crispiest gingersnaps! I did manage to burn the first batch but for the second, I made larger balls and kept a close eye on them. Turned out perfectly, just like the pictures! I did add extra cinnamon and a 1/4 tspn of allspice. Added great bite! Will be making these again...especially for my mom as she loves crispy cookies. Thanks Larry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
These burnt too easily and were really bad - I think I'll just stick with the box I buy at the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
This is amazing! I used to think gingersnaps as crunchy-only cookies with a bite to it and nothing else. But these changed my mind. I'd baked them when I was down with a cold and after eating a few, my stomach literally started warming up; I could feel the heat curl in my belly and that was wonderful considering how miserable I was. I made two half-batched, one rolled in sugar, one without, and to be honest, I prefer the one rolled without sugar. You can really taste the bittersweet and spicy taste to them without the outside coating. I later made a match with just a touch of cinnamon on the outside and that was probably the best since I adore, adore cinnamon. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
This was quick & easy and the family all enjoyed them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Presque Isle, Maine, USA
Living In: New Vineyard, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
WOW! This is a terrific recipe - we love the way these gingersnaps turned out. Thin and crispy on the edges - maybe the entire cookie will turn crispy once they cool but we couldn't wait that long. I used unsalted butter for the shortening and also let the cookies set on the sheet for a few minutes after they came out of the oven. Don't be concerned when they look puffy as you take them out - once they start to cool they flatten right out. Absolutely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
These turned out great. Very good flavor, and nice and crisp too. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BogiesGirl
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
This is an awesome recipe!! I made it 4 separate times during the holidays and they were devoured each time! They are perfectly crisp, perfectly spiced...... all fingers and toes UP! 5 stars!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BogiesGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milan, Michigan, USA
Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
Really great cookies... thin and crunchy, just as they should be. I used a good deal more spice than the recipe calls for (cloves, nutmeg, black pepper).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
Very good recipes! I made these today and my family is gobbling them down as I write this! I will be making more again today as I was making these for a pumpkin cheesecake recipe for the crust. I added the following, 1/8 tsp nutmeg, 1/8 tsp clove, & 1/8 tsp of all spice. My kitchen smells so YUMMY.. Thanks for the recipe~ Linda
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Crispy Rosemary Chicken and Fries

A complete, one-pan meal that’s in the oven in just 15 minutes.

Thin Mint Crackers

These delicious chocolate-covered crackers are so easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States