Crispy Gingersnaps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
These gingersnaps are soooo good! I added extra spices, a sprinkle each of cloves, nutmeg, cayenne pepper and white pepper... gives it extra spiciness!!! I also flattened these cookies when placing them on the pan. I only fit 9 to a smaller cookie sheet/ 12 to a bigger cookie sheet as they spread a lot. Yumm-sters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owego, New York, USA
Living In: Groveland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LEFTOVERSAGAIN
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
These cookies are phenomenal. I added just a touch more ginger (I like it strong!) but otherwise didn't change a thing. These are by far the best gingersnaps I have made - this recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEFTOVERSAGAIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
HOLY COW! Absolutely fantastic. For some reason, I was hesitant about making gingersnaps, but these turned out perfectly. I did follow the hint about beating the sugar and shortening for a good long time, and I flattened them a bit with the bottom of a glass. I baked them for 11 minutes, let them sit on the pan for 2 minutes and transferred to a rack to cool completely. I wanted to try one, and looked for a "bad" one, but there werent any! Every time someone eats one of these delicious confections, Larry gets angel wings for posting this recipe! I will be making these cookies over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandusky, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sunbury, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
Came out flat and crispy just like a gingersnap is supposed to! I took the suggestion of others to beat the eggs into the shortening/sugar mixture for a bit longer to get it to bake out crispy. Mines rolled out perfectly (they weren't sticky). This is a super easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennipupu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
Recipe as given is a tad salty, try reducing salt to 1/4 teaspoon for better balance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
Oh wow...I used to dislike gingersnaps very much. A friend of mine told me they were his favorite so I tried this recipe. I'm glad I only baked half the dough tonight; he can't pick them up until tomorrow, and these are likely to be gone by then. SO delicious! Following other reviewer's advice, I worked the shortening, sugar, and egg for a good long time for crispiness, added a little nutmeg and allspice, flattened before baking, and baked for 13 minutes on parchment paper. Perfect. I guess I never liked gingersnaps before because I had only had the store bought kind in the past. Thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
Delicious cookies! I thought the little ones wouldn't like them, but I was so wrong. They are enjoying them right this moment. Not only do they taste wonderful, my house smells amazing. Thank you for sharing this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Logan, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
The cookies were really good. They were very easy to make, I handed out the ingredients to my daughter (6years old) and she mixed everything together and enjoyed it. To make it a bit spicier I added some ground black pepper. There's no need to flatten out the dough after dipping in sugar it spreads out just fine.To make it crispier mix the shortening sugar and egg for a slightly longer time and then leave the dough till it's slightly browning round the edges not as soon as it puffs up and starts to crack, otherwise it will be doughy and soft - unless that's how you'd prefer it. Great recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
Mine turned out chewy every time. I followed recipe exactly. Excellent cookie, but did not have the "snap" that I desired.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
Somehow I missed reviewing these up til now! I made them at Christmas time and they turned out great! I was in search of a CRISPY gingersnap with a lot of ginger flavor...not just another soft spice cookie. These were the ticket. I did bake for very slightly longer then recommended...and left them on the cookie sheets for a bit after taking out of the oven. Thanks for the awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MollyBrook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Crispy Rosemary Chicken and Fries

A complete, one-pan meal that’s in the oven in just 15 minutes.

Thin Mint Crackers

These delicious chocolate-covered crackers are so easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States