Crispy Gingersnaps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
I made these cookies yesterday. Today, when I came home from work, my husband said "I think you need to hide those cookies." He has never asked me to hide anything with sugar from him before. :3 These cookies are awesome. I made another batch today with only 1/2 cup of shortening and they turned out beautifully. Thanks for the awesome cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skadya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
This is such an excellent recipe, I wish I could've given it 6 stars. Very easy to make, and comes out looking exactly as the picture. Excellent taste also. This is definitely a keeper! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
These hardly need any more accolades, but I just have to put in my two cents' worth. A perfect 5. I flattened these before baking. The first batch was not very dark and are a bit chewy. The second batch turned out quite a bit darker and crispy. Either way, absolutely fabulous. Just the right amount of spice. THANK YOU!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
I gave this recipe 3 stars because they were made for my husband and they were not to his liking. First of all, my husband LOVES ginger cookies and is very particular about how they should be. He said these cookies did not have enough ginger in them (even though I added 1/2 tbsp. more ginger plus some allspice AND black pepper). Also, he likes his cookies VERY crunchy and these cookies were crispy on the outside but chewy inside. I guess I will have to continue my search for his perfect ginger cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA
Living In: Cape Charles, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
These cookies have good/great texture but not the taste I was looking for. Way too much salt and not enough spice. I am looking for an almost 'hot' (but still sweet) gingersnap so will maybe add fresh ginger and a little black pepper and definitely cut the salt by 1/2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
These are pretty good. I use light brown sugar, less ginger, and some cloves. I use fresh cloves and ginger, but dry ginger works just as well. Also I use butter in everything. Im not sure why people flatten these before baking for there is no need. Just roll them in sugar and pop in the oven, they rise, then fall and crack and they're done. These are amazing with tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
These are excellent! Nice and crisp, and very easy. I think next time I will try adding a little white pepper and nutmeg to take them to the next level: perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RRSPANGLE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
DELICIOUS! If you love almond as much as I do, try adding 1 tsp almond extract and 1 cup sliced almonds. The ginger and almond flavors compliment each other in a delectable way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lkoeppen315

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Mateo, California, USA
Living In: Fullerton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
These came out very nice...exactly like the posted pic:) but i used butter instead of shortning, chilled for 15 mins, made it easier to handle and shape...baked for exactly 10 min..yummmmm.thank u for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Malouka
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
Very good and very easy! A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Crispy Rosemary Chicken and Fries

A complete, one-pan meal that’s in the oven in just 15 minutes.

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States