Crispy Gingersnaps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
These cookies have good/great texture but not the taste I was looking for. Way too much salt and not enough spice. I am looking for an almost 'hot' (but still sweet) gingersnap so will maybe add fresh ginger and a little black pepper and definitely cut the salt by 1/2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
These are pretty good. I use light brown sugar, less ginger, and some cloves. I use fresh cloves and ginger, but dry ginger works just as well. Also I use butter in everything. Im not sure why people flatten these before baking for there is no need. Just roll them in sugar and pop in the oven, they rise, then fall and crack and they're done. These are amazing with tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
These are excellent! Nice and crisp, and very easy. I think next time I will try adding a little white pepper and nutmeg to take them to the next level: perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RRSPANGLE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
DELICIOUS! If you love almond as much as I do, try adding 1 tsp almond extract and 1 cup sliced almonds. The ginger and almond flavors compliment each other in a delectable way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lkoeppen315

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Mateo, California, USA
Living In: Fullerton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
These came out very nice...exactly like the posted pic:) but i used butter instead of shortning, chilled for 15 mins, made it easier to handle and shape...baked for exactly 10 min..yummmmm.thank u for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Malouka
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
Very good and very easy! A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
Phenomenal recipe! Made just as recipe indicates and they are perfect. I'll be sure to make these many more times this fall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
The absolute best gingersnap recipe I have ever used! :) The cookies were flat and chewy and moist and perfect for a dunk in either milk or hot tea. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Grover Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
I've been looking for a gingersnap recipe that makes a crispy, crunchy cookie, and I'm happy to report that this is DEFINITELY it!! A few notes for those who are looking for that familiar degree of spiciness that leaves a bit of warmth in your mouth after the cookie is gone; add a couple of shakes of cayenne pepper to your dough and mix well. You can also use ground white pepper. Many folks think they need to use more ginger, but 1 Tb is plenty for the size of this recipe. More ginger won't give you that zing, but pepper will. The recipe made 40 perfect little disks. I rolled them in sugar laced with more ginger, and flattened the balls slightly. They baked up nice and flat, looking much like the commercial variety, with a far superior flavor. Thank you SOOOOoooo much for this wonderful recipe. The one I've been searching for for decades!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
The perfect gingersnap-- look no further! I added just a bit of nutmeg and followed the directions otherwise. Cookies came out crisp and perfectly done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Crispy Rosemary Chicken and Fries

A complete, one-pan meal that’s in the oven in just 15 minutes.

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States