Crispy Gingersnaps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 25, 2011
I cut the sugar in half. Used 1/4 cup whole wheat flour instead of all purpose. Added about 1/4 cup chopped candied ginger - DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
These are baking right now and they smell HEAVENLY!! I substituted butter for the shortening 'cause I haven't any on hand. Other than that, followed the recipe and they are really, really good. And easy! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Most excellent Gingersnaps! I did not have shortening, so used butter. I followed everything else in the recipe. They turned out perfect! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
So easy! I added a teensy shake of nutmeg. Everything else was the same. Love them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RIELLA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by o.d
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
thanks for this recipe. i like ginger cookies but its so hard to find in Malaysia. i tried the soft ginger cookie recipe here but i like it to be crunchy. thats why i tried this one, but its weird coz the only difference is the 2 cups of flour instead of 2 1/4 in the soft cookies. to ensure crunchyness, i added 1tsp of emplex in the flour mix. molasses also is so hard to find here, except the blackstrap at organic shop. so i sub the molasses with dark treacle. i like mine to taste the spices more, so i roll the balls in 2tbsp sugar + 1 tsp nutmeg and 1 tsp ground ginger, and keep adding in that portion untill all the dough finished. another thing is, coz i see the dough is too sticky and dont wanna get my hand messy, i added 1 tbsp of flour, then the batter is just fine to roll in ur palm. thanks so much for this recipe, now i make my ginger cookies myself :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by o.d

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ipoh, Perak, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
So good and so QUICK! I added a 1/2 teaspoon of nutmeg and a 1/4 teaspoon of cloves to make these cookies DIVINE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
DELICIOUS!!! I followed all ingredients and instructions as they were originally written. I did however follow another reviewer's advice and flatten the balls of dough a bit with my fingers. This made then turn out thin and in a perfect circular shape. WONDERFUL RECIPE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Such a simple recipe and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rkbds7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pearl City, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Saint Louis Park, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
This is identical to my grandma's gingersnaps -- one of my all-time favorite cookies. I have been making it for almost 30 years and it doesn't get any better than this. Everyone I have made it for loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
Easy and tasty! These may be the fastest cookies I have ever made and they turned out great. If you like them "snappy" make them a day ahead. I enjoyed them warm and soft but the next day they were much more along the lines of a traditional gingersnap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Crispy Rosemary Chicken and Fries

A complete, one-pan meal that’s in the oven in just 15 minutes.

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States