Crispy Gingersnaps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I have never cared for gingersnap cookies, but I made these for my mother-in-law's mother. Maybe I'd never had a good gingersnap before because I liked these a lot. They do not taste overly gingery, but I also used a store brand ginger so that could be it. Very easy to make. I think I got well more than 7 dozen from this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Delicious, I have made this twice in the past week, the first time I shaped into balls and flattened with a sugar dusted cup bottom, and the second I rolled into gingerbread boys and girls we then decorated, this cookie is fabulous both ways; oh and I doubled the ginger the second time, extra spicy, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bayfield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Perfect recipe for the crispy gingersnaps. And way better than the ones you buy in a box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
Wonderful recipe! Make them small for thinner, crispier cookies, bigger for chewy ones. I also suggest adding a half teaspoon of cloves and an additional teaspoon of ginger. And lard or butter rather than shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andygirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Sooooo yummy! I could not resist eating two! I just made these this afternoon and they taste great right out of the oven! Instead of shortening, I used softened butter and I also added 1/2 teaspoon of ground cloves. I also did not roll the cookies in sugar. Instead of shaping into balls, I rolled all the dough out onto a floured surface to about an 1/8 inch thickness and cut the cookies with a 1 1/2 inch biscuit cutter. I baked them at 350 for about 10 minutes each. It made about 6 dozen cookies. Please note that you do NOT have to refrigerate the dough before making them this way. I absolutely loves spiced baked goods and these are the best! The amount of salt is perfect, the contrast (salty-sweet) is great! I will most certainly be making these again! Taste just like store-bought gingersnaps without the preservatives and other fake ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: East Earl, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynne Julia

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Just perfect! I wanted them to be flat so I flattened them out rather than rolling into balls. I cooked for 10 minutes and they came out slightly chewy which was wonderful. I added ground cardamom just a teaspoon and the flavors all blend very nicely. I think this will be my new annual Christmas cookie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Salon1997

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynnfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Malden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
FABULOUS cookies - my favorite cookie are gingersnaps and I'm so thrilled to have a recipe that beats any I've tried anywhere, including a good bakery. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
I loved these Gingersnaps as well as everyone I shared them with. Made them just like the recipe called.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
Was pretty good... i think I'll add more ginger powder the next time.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 11-20 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Crispy Rosemary Chicken and Fries

A complete, one-pan meal that’s in the oven in just 15 minutes.

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States