Crispy Gingersnaps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Perfect recipe for the crispy gingersnaps. And way better than the ones you buy in a box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
Wonderful recipe! Make them small for thinner, crispier cookies, bigger for chewy ones. I also suggest adding a half teaspoon of cloves and an additional teaspoon of ginger. And lard or butter rather than shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andygirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Sooooo yummy! I could not resist eating two! I just made these this afternoon and they taste great right out of the oven! Instead of shortening, I used softened butter and I also added 1/2 teaspoon of ground cloves. I also did not roll the cookies in sugar. Instead of shaping into balls, I rolled all the dough out onto a floured surface to about an 1/8 inch thickness and cut the cookies with a 1 1/2 inch biscuit cutter. I baked them at 350 for about 10 minutes each. It made about 6 dozen cookies. Please note that you do NOT have to refrigerate the dough before making them this way. I absolutely loves spiced baked goods and these are the best! The amount of salt is perfect, the contrast (salty-sweet) is great! I will most certainly be making these again! Taste just like store-bought gingersnaps without the preservatives and other fake ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: East Earl, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynne Julia

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Just perfect! I wanted them to be flat so I flattened them out rather than rolling into balls. I cooked for 10 minutes and they came out slightly chewy which was wonderful. I added ground cardamom just a teaspoon and the flavors all blend very nicely. I think this will be my new annual Christmas cookie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Salon1997

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynnfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Malden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
FABULOUS cookies - my favorite cookie are gingersnaps and I'm so thrilled to have a recipe that beats any I've tried anywhere, including a good bakery. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
I loved these Gingersnaps as well as everyone I shared them with. Made them just like the recipe called.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
Was pretty good... i think I'll add more ginger powder the next time.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
I cut the sugar in half. Used 1/4 cup whole wheat flour instead of all purpose. Added about 1/4 cup chopped candied ginger - DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
These are baking right now and they smell HEAVENLY!! I substituted butter for the shortening 'cause I haven't any on hand. Other than that, followed the recipe and they are really, really good. And easy! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Crispy Rosemary Chicken and Fries

A complete, one-pan meal that’s in the oven in just 15 minutes.

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States