Crispy Gingersnaps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Crispy, chewy, spicy, delicious cookies! I did substitute butter for the shortening (personal preference) and add 1/4tsp each of cloves and nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mount Pleasant, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
I made these and rolled up in balls, dipped in sugar (per recipe) then I put them in a bag and baked off 4 at a time so I wouldn't eat too many! They are more chewy than crispy. And I did make some right away and the ones I make a month later tasted exactly the same as the ones I made the day I first made them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Iblafin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
While these cookies were very tasty and nice and crispy (I used 1/2 c. shortening, 1/4 c. butter), they did not have quite the zing I was looking for. Even though, after reading many of the reviews here, I increased the spice amounts and added allspice, nutmeg, black pepper and even a bit of cayenne, they were not spicy enough for our likings. I will keep this recipe on file but my next attempt will most likely include some crystallized ginger and a lot more cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
This recipe was great! I did add 1 tsp cardamom, 1/4 tsp cloves and 1/2 tsp nutmeg. I don't usually make cookies with shortening, but the previous recipe I made with butter came out so flat! These had great taste rose well! I will use this recipe again for my Holiday baking! Thank you :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HAYNIE13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cerritos, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
I substituted Butter for the Shortening. HEre is a very good article http://www.melindalee.com/resources/reference-center/cookie-tips/ on how to get a crispy cookie. Basically shortening will make a softer, puffier cookie and butter will make a crispier one. It was great with the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIVORY
Home Town: Hopewell Junction, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
These are delicious! I used coconut oil instead of shortening, half cup brown sugar half cup unbleached sugar and I ran out of malasses so substituted maple syrup for the balance of the 1/4 cup. They turned out great, can't wait to eat them with coffee on the morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chasity Swaney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Love this recipe. Followed the advice of others and rolled in sugar and pumpkin pie spice then pressed with a glass. They are light and crispy and delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melissa Buckler
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Just made these today. They are wonderful! I will certainly be making them again. The true test is when my husband gets home tomorrow to try them. They are not spicy at all though. I think I'll be adding something to them next time. I think I'll go a little less on the salt too. Just a personal preference though. For all those that are saying they aren't crispy enough. Let them sit for a day or two. They get crispier. The inside chewiness dries up and crisps up quite well. I tried baking for 10 minutes and for 12 minutes. It didn't make a difference, after a few days of sitting they all are the same. Adding… my husband liked them, but also agreed they weren't like the store bought ones. I'm trying another batch today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Buckler

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Substituted butter for the shortening. Doubled the ginger. Didn't dip in sugar. Rolled into balls, then smashed them down flat on a cookie sheet lined with Silpat and baked at 350 in top third of oven for 10 minutes. Crispy on the outside and a hint of chewy on the inside. Perfection! Time to buy a stand-mixer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Just fixed these yesterday. Followed the recipe but added a touch of cayenne for added snap. Excellent recipe. My husband does not usually like gingersnaps but he loved these and wants me to make them again! Thanks for the great recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Crispy Rosemary Chicken and Fries

A complete, one-pan meal that’s in the oven in just 15 minutes.

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States