Crispy Gingersnaps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2000
This is an excellent recipe. It tastes just like the ones you can buy in a bag at the grocery store. Using vegetable shortening is why their so crispy. One note, if you want them nice and flat, once you put them on the cookie sheet, flatten them slightly. Or, when they have baked for half their time, remove sheet from oven, and gently "drop" or "bang" sheet on counter 1 or 2 times, and cookies will flatten. I have used this recipe in a cooking class and it's always been a success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2000
Very Yummy, just as I remember them at Grandma's house. I added a touch of fresh groung nutmeg and used organic dehydrated cane sugar ( much better for you then white sugar), then pressed them flat before putting them in the oven. For some added holiday fun, I dipped one half of each cookie in melted white chocolate. mmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2001
this is the best recipe for gingersnaps that I have ever made. They are wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2001
Excellent recipe! I've also tried using baking powder instead of baking soda to make them less flat, and that's also good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2001
Loved it.... Love it... Love it... WE ALL LOVED IT!!!!! Thumbs up to Larry!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2002
These have become my families favorite gingersnap recipe. They don't last long so make a double batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
This is an excellent cookie. My husband loved them and I have been trying to find "one like my mother use to make" for a long time now. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2003
The best gingersnap cookies! I followed the recipe exactly. Watch the time while baking, though - one minute means the difference between a chewy cookie and a "snap."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2003
These are the best gingersnap cookies ever and very very easy to make, even for a beginner like me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2004
These were so yummy. I had to increase the cook time by about five minutes to get a firmer cookie. But that was fine with me because they SMELLED AMAZING while they were in the oven! My family went through a double batch in no time. This recipe was a huge hit in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Crispy Rosemary Chicken and Fries

A complete, one-pan meal that’s in the oven in just 15 minutes.

Thin Mint Crackers

These delicious chocolate-covered crackers are so easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States