Crispy Gingersnaps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2006
Amazing! I have been looking for a thin crispy gingersnap recipe and this was perfect. I did substitute real butter for the shortening to eliminate any trans fats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
ok-these are awesome! made for catered event to serve w/raspberry carmel brie. I found putting sugar for the dough in a flat bowl. Roll cookies by the dozen setting in bowl with sugar. Press down gently into sugar and they come off on your fingers easily transfered to sheet. saved time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
Outstanding is not a strong enough word! My son is a pumpkin pie fanatic but after these, he has a new favorite dessert. I followed some of the other suggestions listed. I baked it on parchment and added a touch of nutmeg and cloves. I also flattened them out a little before baking. I couldn't believe how easy they were to make. Best cookies I've had in ages!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
I love these, even though the first time I made them, they burned on the bottom at 8 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
These are the best gingersnaps I have ever had! They're crispy on the outside and slightly soft in the center and super easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2005
While these were not as thin and therefore lacking the real potatochip-like crisp I was looking for, the taste was really delicious. I'll save this recipe for a slightly thicker version and also add an extra 1/2 teaspoon or more of spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUBLIMEMIND82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
Delicious! Watch the time on them. My oven temp. might be a bit off so I only cooked them for 8 1/2 minutes and they were perfect. Ten minutes was just a bit too long for mine. They taste so much better than the ones in the bag!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
These cookies were very good. I made the recipe exact as written. I pressed them down with a glass after rolling them in white sugar. They baked in about 10 min. They did spread a bit, which I liked. They were crisp on the outside edges and chewy in the middle. They will be good for making ginger bread people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
I just have to add my two cents worth and say how absolutely AMAZING these cookies are! I've baked them three times in the last two days (see, I told you they're amazing!), each with a different balance of spices (once as written, once with the addition of some nutmeg and allspice and less ginger, and once with more molasses and the addition of nutmeg), all with spectacular results. Some things I found helpful: 1) I baked them on parchment paper for exactly 13 minutes...perfect every time!; 2) I used a 1" scoop and then rolled the cookies in sugar on the non-flat sides; 3) I used the back of a wooden spoon to flatten a bit before baking, and 4) the longer you beat the shortening with the sugar and egg, the crispier and more crumbly the cookie. They do look exactly like the photo, and as perfect as something manufactured commercially, but with a MUCH better taste. Thank you, Larry, for what is now probably my favorite cookie recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
Baking these for ten minutes gave me cookies with a little crunch on the outside and soft in the middle. At twelve minutes they're crunchy "snaps." I love them either way. Even when they're not completely flat, they're crispy, and the flavor is wonderful. Not excessively spicy, but I think they're just right. I'll make them again and again, even though I hate the smell of molasses and ginger!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MagicallyDelicious

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Crispy Rosemary Chicken and Fries

A complete, one-pan meal that’s in the oven in just 15 minutes.

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States