Crispy Gingersnaps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
I have 2 young children and they loved these cookies. They were easy enough to make that the children were able to help me. They each grabbed one right out of the oven and I had to tell them no more after they each grabbed a second one. We will definately make this recipe many more times as a fun edible craft. I would highly recommend it to anyone who is looking to take care of a snack and craft in one fun sweep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
The cookies themselves were very yummy, but try as I might I could not get them crispy, which was a problem, since I wanted to grind them and use as a pie crust. I have no idea how anyone could have burned these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
The yummiest, crispiest gingersnaps! I did manage to burn the first batch but for the second, I made larger balls and kept a close eye on them. Turned out perfectly, just like the pictures! I did add extra cinnamon and a 1/4 tspn of allspice. Added great bite! Will be making these again...especially for my mom as she loves crispy cookies. Thanks Larry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
These burnt too easily and were really bad - I think I'll just stick with the box I buy at the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
This is amazing! I used to think gingersnaps as crunchy-only cookies with a bite to it and nothing else. But these changed my mind. I'd baked them when I was down with a cold and after eating a few, my stomach literally started warming up; I could feel the heat curl in my belly and that was wonderful considering how miserable I was. I made two half-batched, one rolled in sugar, one without, and to be honest, I prefer the one rolled without sugar. You can really taste the bittersweet and spicy taste to them without the outside coating. I later made a match with just a touch of cinnamon on the outside and that was probably the best since I adore, adore cinnamon. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
This was quick & easy and the family all enjoyed them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Presque Isle, Maine, USA
Living In: New Vineyard, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
WOW! This is a terrific recipe - we love the way these gingersnaps turned out. Thin and crispy on the edges - maybe the entire cookie will turn crispy once they cool but we couldn't wait that long. I used unsalted butter for the shortening and also let the cookies set on the sheet for a few minutes after they came out of the oven. Don't be concerned when they look puffy as you take them out - once they start to cool they flatten right out. Absolutely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
These turned out great. Very good flavor, and nice and crisp too. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BogiesGirl
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
This is an awesome recipe!! I made it 4 separate times during the holidays and they were devoured each time! They are perfectly crisp, perfectly spiced...... all fingers and toes UP! 5 stars!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BogiesGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milan, Michigan, USA
Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
Really great cookies... thin and crunchy, just as they should be. I used a good deal more spice than the recipe calls for (cloves, nutmeg, black pepper).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Crispy Rosemary Chicken and Fries

A complete, one-pan meal that’s in the oven in just 15 minutes.

Thin Mint Crackers

These delicious chocolate-covered crackers are so easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States