Crispy Gingersnaps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
Phenomenal recipe! Made just as recipe indicates and they are perfect. I'll be sure to make these many more times this fall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
The absolute best gingersnap recipe I have ever used! :) The cookies were flat and chewy and moist and perfect for a dunk in either milk or hot tea. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Grover Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
I've been looking for a gingersnap recipe that makes a crispy, crunchy cookie, and I'm happy to report that this is DEFINITELY it!! A few notes for those who are looking for that familiar degree of spiciness that leaves a bit of warmth in your mouth after the cookie is gone; add a couple of shakes of cayenne pepper to your dough and mix well. You can also use ground white pepper. Many folks think they need to use more ginger, but 1 Tb is plenty for the size of this recipe. More ginger won't give you that zing, but pepper will. The recipe made 40 perfect little disks. I rolled them in sugar laced with more ginger, and flattened the balls slightly. They baked up nice and flat, looking much like the commercial variety, with a far superior flavor. Thank you SOOOOoooo much for this wonderful recipe. The one I've been searching for for decades!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
The perfect gingersnap-- look no further! I added just a bit of nutmeg and followed the directions otherwise. Cookies came out crisp and perfectly done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
This really is a great recipe. I'm not a fan of gingersnaps in general, but I couldn't stop eating these. I didn't sprinkle or dip in sugar, and I did add a little bit extra flour from reading other's reviews of how greasy they were. Overall, fantastic recipe that will be my go to recipe for gingersnap cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
These came out excellent !!!!!!!!! You do not have to change a thing. The recipe is dead on !!!!!!! A big hit....You must try them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
These gingersnaps are soooo good! I added extra spices, a sprinkle each of cloves, nutmeg, cayenne pepper and white pepper... gives it extra spiciness!!! I also flattened these cookies when placing them on the pan. I only fit 9 to a smaller cookie sheet/ 12 to a bigger cookie sheet as they spread a lot. Yumm-sters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owego, New York, USA
Living In: Groveland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LEFTOVERSAGAIN
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
These cookies are phenomenal. I added just a touch more ginger (I like it strong!) but otherwise didn't change a thing. These are by far the best gingersnaps I have made - this recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEFTOVERSAGAIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
HOLY COW! Absolutely fantastic. For some reason, I was hesitant about making gingersnaps, but these turned out perfectly. I did follow the hint about beating the sugar and shortening for a good long time, and I flattened them a bit with the bottom of a glass. I baked them for 11 minutes, let them sit on the pan for 2 minutes and transferred to a rack to cool completely. I wanted to try one, and looked for a "bad" one, but there werent any! Every time someone eats one of these delicious confections, Larry gets angel wings for posting this recipe! I will be making these cookies over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandusky, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sunbury, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
Came out flat and crispy just like a gingersnap is supposed to! I took the suggestion of others to beat the eggs into the shortening/sugar mixture for a bit longer to get it to bake out crispy. Mines rolled out perfectly (they weren't sticky). This is a super easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennipupu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Crispy Rosemary Chicken and Fries

A complete, one-pan meal that’s in the oven in just 15 minutes.

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States